Challenging Myself

I’m always up for challenging myself to do new things. Become better. Do better. Self-improvement sort of stuff. So when my old coworker, Amy, started a ’30-Day Challenge’ group on Facebook, I was all in. Now, Facebook isn’t something I typically use. I’m not crazy about how political it’s gotten, or how diluted with ads it can be (just like everything else, anymore). However, I saw this as an opportunity to select something – just one little thing – to improve on each month. Sounds easy enough.

So for my challenge, I chose sleep. I’m going to prioritize my sleep and make sure I get enough of it. With working full time at the hospital while in graduate school full time, I often find myself either staying up late to work on research projects or papers, or I’m just wired from a long shift. My sleep duration usually ranges between two and five hours on a normal night. For the month, I’m making it my goal to get eight hours of sleep each night. Last night I managed a full eight hours of sleep to start this challenge off strong, and I felt much more ready to conquer the day this morning. Over time, I’m sure I’ll feel much better, and can’t wait to see the changes in myself in a month should I be successful.

Log in to write a note
June 6, 2019

I’ve seen a few of those 30 day challenge things in blogs, and it’s really inspiring 🙂 it’s a nice break from all the other things you see online, and I think you are setting great goals for yourself. I think i should try to get more sleep too. I normally get about 5 even if I try to sleep in haha. Best of luck on that 🙂

June 18, 2019

@bluepaperheart Thank you! It’s going… so-so, thus far. I have good nights and bad nights. The key has been for me to try and cut down on caffeine, which helps. Thank you for the good vibes. ❤