Clearing my throat….

Hello dear ones,
Since I am so overwhelmed at the prospect of catching up with the past few years of not writing much, I think I am going to just try one thing at a time. Maybe the exercise of just poring everything out will help me find my writing voice again…..so ahem! Here goes.

Update #1 since 2013: The Three Boys

They are all 31 now. (Whoah!)
At this moment, all three are kind, conscientious, handsome, loving, and gainfully employed.
Trevor married lovely Casey in our back yard a couple summers ago. They had 100 mini apple pies instead of a wedding cake, and a local food truck rather than a catered meal. My wonderful sisters decorated the sprawling apple tree and made the pies. I designed Casey’s wedding gown and did all the flowers. Casey wanted sage green succulents and coral roses. I added a locket to the bridal bouquet with a photo of Casey’s mom who passed away from breast cancer when Casey was 16.
Don worked all that summer landscaping the yard and growing hundreds of dahlias, so all looked lovely and the wedding day was perfect. The pronounced couple then announced to the cheers of the crowd that they were expecting their first child. (I already knew, as her gown needed to…..expand!)

          
We are now utterly smitten grandparents to our beloved Leonie, who turned a year old this Saint Patrick’s Day. Both Trevor and Casey are beautiful parents, but I love watching Trevor become such an incredible dad. This is not surprising to me—but there is something magical about your child having a child. I watch his loving hands and the way he cradles her in his gentle arms. And the adoring way Leonie looks at him through her baby eyes—-well, I am completely undone.


Ian continues his life in creative performance work, and is now production manager at a circus dinner theatre in Seattle. He also teaches aerial and clown work to children at a performance college. His girlfriend is amazing in so many ways—but my favorite thing about her is that she “gets” Ian, his great heart and side-splitting humor. Ian is also a very loving uncle and is constantly carrying Leonie around when we are all together. It kills him to be so far away from his niece. This identical twin thing is quite disconcerting to little Leonie, and she looks in confusion from Trevor’s face to Ian’s.
Charlie moved back to Colorado again and lives an hour away (happy us!) He’s working in sales for a big software company and is so genuine, enthusiastic and unconventional in his approach, that he’s doing very well. Meanwhile, he is taking after his dad as a voracious reader and thinker—interested in all sorts of subjects and thought. He’s probably the most politically active and liberally outspoken of all of us. He met his long-term girlfriend on the job, and they both enjoy travel and the arts. It’s so wonderful that he just pops up for the weekend, or we travel to meet the two of them for a weekend of art, restaurants and gardens.
Our amazing boys have turned into such wonderful men….they make me beam!

Log in to write a note
March 26, 2018

Hello, old friend! No, you have not lost your writing voice. Your life is wonderful and beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

March 26, 2018

How wonderful to read you again!

Congratulations on being a grandma!!

March 26, 2018

Thanks for the update!

March 26, 2018

Isn’t being a grand parent the best?!?

March 27, 2018

What a beautiful, beautiful family you have created!  So delighted to read you again.

March 27, 2018

So incredible to realize that they have all grown up, they were all quite young when we first “met” if I recall,  not much older than my boy is now! My heart is full for you, thank you for sharing a little more with us as always!

March 27, 2018

How lovely, and what a gorgeous grandchild! I must write about my two when I get around to being a “regular” around here again. Well done on those fine men, too!

March 28, 2018

Yes indeed, your boys definitely are wonderful men.  I once had a friend tell me that the best thing we can do for our children is raise them to be responsible, caring, and thoughtful citizens.  Your boys certainly are that.  Oh my goodness gracious, Leonie is a doll baby!

Cat
March 29, 2018

And of course they’ve attracted such wonderful women, because they had you as a model!  And of COURSE you helped create the most beautiful perfect wedding ever.  🙂

June 3, 2018

How incredibly wonderful to see your children grown up to be such amazing citizens of the world. A job well done by their parents. ❤

June 12, 2018

SO happy to hear they are doing so well.  I have news!  My 37 year old son just got engaged in Nice a couple of weeks ago!  Finally…I will have a daughter!!!