Daily Devotional/Reading Notes

5/24/22

Day 10 Made To Crave

Devotional

Our choices will eventually catch up with us.

Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit. Who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 1 Corinthians 6:19

I can be loyal to honoring the Lord, my husband, and my body, or be loyal to my cravings, desires, and excuses for not exercising.

Teach me your way, LORD, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name. I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever. Psalms 86

 

Chapter 9

But Exercise Makes Me Want to Cry

Halfhearted efforts produce mediocre results.

The reality was I didn’t feel good physically or emotionally.

I didn’t have a weight problem; I had a spiritual problem. I depended on food for comfort more than I depended on God.

Exercise made me want to cry. But the feeling of accomplishment afterward was fantastic!

Everyday I asked God to give me the strength to stick with it this time.

Each lost pound was not a quest to get skinny but evidence of obedience to God.

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever Psalms 73:26

I’d have to admit I made time for what I wanted to make time for.

I wasn’t making a plan to exercise each day and giving that time the same priority as other minor things.

There are natural consequences for not taking care of our bodies.

Our choices matter in the physical sense and the spiritual sense.

The best kind of exercise is the kind you’ll do.

Log in to write a note