The Good Stuff

As a continuation of my last entry.

So I tried and tried and submitted hundreds of resumes.  I got a call fro an interview with a telecom company looking for a customer service and help desk manager. It sounded like a kick ass job with great benefits Their main office is about an hour and half drive from my place but they have a local office as well thats only about 15 minutes away.

I has a phone interview that went well and then I was called for an in person interview.  I went to the interview and was very comfortable.  It felt like a job I could do well at and really love doing.  They said they had a few more interviews (dont they always) and said Id hear from them either way.

My birthday was on Friday that week, so I had only scheduled myself for like 20 hours with my food delivery job so that I could do birthday stuff. I was only able to schedule myself for 12 hours worth of shifts  that next week so I was really hoping that Id be able  to find something soon.   Birthday came  and I woke up in a very good mood because i knew pancakes were imminent.  I got up and went to pee when my phone rang.

It was the lady that I interviewed with and I prepared myself  for the let down.  sucks that it had to be on my birthday which was already painful because its also Penns birthday (and the girl he cheated on me with ) and he had planned to take us on a little trip. I steeled myself and continued the conversation.

She said that she wanted to offer me the job and that they were going to pay me 4k more than my last position and then after 90 days I would get another 2k raise.  I almost dropped my phone!  I kept it together and accepted the job.  got all of the details I’d need and immediatley went and woke up my roommate/bff and screamed until she woke up.  we called out other bff on video chat ( he has a travel job) and we all squeed like school girls for a little while.

I started on July 5th so Its just been a little over 2 weeks.  I’m so happy.  so so so happy. I have my own office, the people are all  pretty decent and so far the work has been gentle.  I am getting paid the most I have ever made in my life.  I will get health insurance starting in October, mostly company paid.  I will have the option to buy dental and vision, 401k after a year, and plenty of PTO.  In fact, After my 90 days, Ill have 3 and a half PTO days that will need to be used by the end of the year.  Fuck Im so happy about this

Also I am in the process of enrolling in classes for the fall semester.  I had intended on going to school for my RN but that program will be impossible to do and keep my job.  Im going to have to find a school that does RN night classes.  For now im just doing online classes, mostly taking the RN prerequisites  like Anatomy and Physiology and Microbiology.  Filling it in with English classes and some electives.  I do love to go to school 🙂  School starts August 20th, so I have some things that I need to get done before then.

I have been eating strictly vegetarian for a while now too.  Im trying to be as vegan as possible, but some cheese or dairy slips in sometimes.  I have gone to the gym a few times as well.

Its time that I look after myself.  I spend way too much time and energy making sure that other people are taken care of and no one gives that back to me.  So thats what Im doing with myself.  making sure IM good.   I’m getting happier.  It feels really good 😉

 

Log in to write a note
July 21, 2018

Ahhhhh holy crap, this is awesome! Fuck (well, don’t, because he sucks) Penn, get paid. It’s kind of handy to have another big life change when you’re going through a breakup, in my opinion; it helps make it more. . .concrete, or something? I don’t know. Either way, this new job and school sound GREAT.

July 21, 2018

@caseyleigh_1 I agree!  It kind of takes the pain from the one situation and helps you to really shine in the other area that is getting a boost.. restores confidence, maybe gives you a little bit of that bad ass swag, right 🙂

July 22, 2018

I am so happy that things are looking up!!! You are so right that things go in cycles. So glad you made it through the down part.