Meh Lets Not Do This Again

Hey yall

I am not going to do this “im sorry for not writing” let me catch you all up.  We aren’t doing that.  I need to brain dump and here I am.  I am as always going to make it more of a priority to write but I cant make promises today or any other day.

Jeff and I have begun working on eliminating debt.  The most overwhelming debt we have is my student loans.  Right now our goal is to have all of our credit cards paid off, as well as an installment loan I have by the end of the year.  I also need to either start Christmas shopping now or create a budget for Christmas.  I am not sure what yet.  Its hard to Christmas shop early because kids change their minds all the time.

At the end of April I will have made enough money in overtime to pay off Jeff’s only credit card and my smallest card.  I have already scheduled both payments to pull on payday so I do not forget or anything.  We are loosely doing the Dave Ramsey method with the debt snowball and such.  We do not even have an emergency fund which should be our first goal but I will feel better having these two cards gone.  This is both a debt pay off adventure and a credit improving adventure.

I will be adding one small bill (like less than 25 a month) to each card and having it set on autopay and paying off each month.  Our financial advisor says that is actually a perfect way to do it, so here we go.

Jeff is getting the van detailed and inspected tomorrow and he will start ubering at night probably weekends to make some extra money each month.  We need him to make $500 per month for food, 250 per month for the storage unit and misc bills like Hulu, Netflix and such, and then I would like 500 per month to put towards debt, though we have a goal of him making 1500 per month and that would give us 750 per month for debt.

If he makes 500 for May, June, July, August and September the entire credit card debt would be wiped out.  That is without me working any OT at all.  It is going to be a stretch however to pay off all the CC debt and the installment loan but whatever we cannot get paid off by 2020 we will be using our tax return to pay the rest off.

I did get a raise which will give me 150 extra a month that I will be throwing at debt as well so I know that we can do it it will just be hard.  It’s a lot of buckling down.  Because I am sick of my house and the only way to move is to get my credit better so we can buy a second home.  My first is paid off.

So that is where we are.  I am not going to be sharing actual credit scores mostly because I am not wanting to be judged and after Finn got sick my credit fucking tanked, but I needed to brain dump my plans and ideas.

Log in to write a note
kat
April 3, 2019

sounds like a great plan!