TOTW

I have a lot to be thankful for lately.

  1. I am Thankful for modern medicine.  Without the advancement Finn’s diabetes diagnosis would have been a death sentence.  Hell even with this advancement there was a chance he would never wake up from his coma.
  2. My house!  Its not perfect.  It needs some work.  Its not big enough..it needs lots more space to fit us comfortably…but we own it free and clear and dammit no one can take it from me.
  3. My Job.  I work a cushy government job 8-4:30…no holidays or weekends. Even though I hate the drama sometimes and the rules are unyielding I am blessed to have the job I have.
  4. My Husband.  He is my rock, he has been my rock for 13 years.
  5. The internet.  It holds all my favorite things…friends..podcasts..articles to read.

 

Log in to write a note
kat
April 7, 2018

I am pre diabetic and have been for about 10 years so I understand it is scary and no fun (hugs)

 

@kaliko Love and Hugs.  My 14 month old at the time (hes 19 months now) went into a diabetic coma and was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.  Its hell, and I hate it, but we are blessed that he survived the diagnosis.

I wish you peace on your journey

kat
April 7, 2018

@alwayschanging-alwaysgrowing things are changing every day.. there are now pumps and meters that check every 5 mins and he will be able to have those things in a few years so hang in there… and wow from what I have read… things have improved greatly the last 20 so every year they get better. I have been lucky to control with diet and exercise and 500 mg of metformin…. so far

@kaliko he has both of those items, but with an infant there is no tool to manage the difficulties in his inability to communicate how much he will eat so we can appropriately dose him.

April 7, 2018

Delightful to read your gratitude list.  Lucky you owning your house free and clear.  That’s a major accomplishment!  Congratulations!

@wildrose_2 Thank you!

It really, really is amazing.  I am so blessed.

April 7, 2018

@alwayschanging-alwaysgrowing You won’t have to worry at all when it comes time for you to retire.  You’ll always have a place to rest your head and that is a real blessing!