World Diabetes Day (T1 Edition)

Its world diabetes day. If you arent already dressed for the day consider wearing blue! Here are 14 things I’ve learned being the parent of a diabetic.

1. A pump isnt a cure. All a pump is, is a mechanical needle that measures and injects. You still have to do the entering and the calculations when changing basal or bolus numbers.)

2. Many diabetics are afraid of going to sleep and not waking up. Especially if they live alone.

3. More than 50 percent of people diagnosed every year are adults.

4. Everything changes his numbers. Growth spurts, heat, cold, barometric pressure, stress, activity, altitude, excitement…the list goes on and on.

5. The JDRF is in bed with the insulin companies and many parents of children with diabetes dont believe they want a cure because of $$.

6. Diabetes can be misdiagnosed. Always ask for a finger stick. If they say no fight for it.

7. A dexcom should be as widely accepted and paid for by insurance companies as the pump is.

8. Diabetes =/= no carbs. Stop suggesting it.

9. Sugar free can be worse for a diabetic than the version with sugar.

10. Insulin pricing has steadily increased even though the formula hasnt changed in decades.

11. The community of parents who deal with this disease is overwhelmingly wonderful.

12. Lows are the scariest thing I have ever faced, and not every low is felt.

13. Cereal still sucks. Cereal for breakfast means all day highs

14. Parents who have a diabetic child do not sleep but we still make life saving decisions sleep deprived all day and night with no break.

Bonus:

In addition to fearing the usual (American) pastimes of school shootings parents of children with diabetes have to hope their childs alarms on their dex and pump were silenced or didnt go off. That the sudden fear and adrenaline doesnt cause their childs bg to drop to an unsafe level.

In Finns school (when they are physically in class clearly) only his nurse is trained in glucagon. And only his nurse can give low treatments. And they keep those things locked in a cabinet on the other end of the school (We are fighting the school hard because there are epi pens in the classroom, and Finns rescue meds are just as important). If there is a shooting and Finn is in class there is no one there to save my son.

So if the shooter doesnt kill him we also have to hope his blood sugar doesn’t.

Log in to write a note
November 15, 2020

I wasn’t aware there was a world diabetes day, and I’m diabetic! As an adult I have to say, I now realize all my mom did for me when I was a diabetic kid. She was a nervous wreck but she kept me alive! I totally agree with #5 and I will no longer donate to the JDRF. I truly believe they don’t want a cure. #10 is also terrible and I have paid up to $500 co-pays for insulin that used have no co-pay.

I can’t believe they won’t allow Glucagon to be close by! The teachers should all be taught about low blood sugars and what to do. I guess I was lucky- when I was in school I was allowed to carry everything on me. Anyways, I enjoyed your entry- many people are very misinformed about diabetes so real information is always nice.

November 15, 2020

@devildoll we donate to the children’s diabetes foundation.  They have a ton of programs that give directly to the families who have been impacted by diabetes AND they do a ton of research programs (many of which my toddler is signed up for).  The cost of insulin is so disgusting its a rant I go on at least weekly.

Diabetes has this weird stigma that its no big deal so when I say he needs rescue meds they fight.  I am hoping to get the new one that goes up your nose at least for him to keep on him at school, I am hoping that because its not a needle they will be more willing to keep it near him because I really dont want to get an educational lawyer to deal with it.

Thank you for your comment!  Misinformation sometimes can be exhausting so for an adult with diabetes to tell me my entry was nice means so much!

kat
November 15, 2020

I am type 2 I know we do not have the same worries but it still can be a challenge

November 15, 2020

@kaliko absolutely!  Type 2 also runs in my family my dad, step mom, grandfather, and step dad all have type 2 so I am pretty well versed in it as well.  All diabetes diseases suck and I hope for a cure for every single one.