99% a No-Go

OB was a guy so I was skeptical how that was gonna go considering my past experiences with male gynos… but he was FANTASTIC.
Quite a good experience considering the bad news.
The pregnancy is 99% a No-Go in his opinion, based on all of my results including 2 more recent blood tests where my levels have decreased.
Still, he said I can absolutely have another ultrasound before doing anything drastic – just to make sure. He said he’s seen miracles and, even if not, some people need it for mental peace. See what I mean? He was fantastic!! I’ve had women doctors who aren’t as attuned to these things. Speaking of such, he was as puzzled as us as to why my GP was SO convinced it was a non-viable pregnancy after seeing only the one ultrasound result. We left feeling validated in many ways.

My ultrasound to confirm the failed pregnancy is scheduled for March 3rd. Assuming that’s the result (which we will find out immediately afterward in an appointment with him, thankfully), the next step is to medically induce the evacuation of my uterus. Also assuming nothing starts on its own before then. But so far nothing. Not even spotting. After that seems complete, I will go for another ultrasound to make sure everything is clear. If not, it will be time for a D&C.

Surprisingly, I woke up on the day of that appointment in a good mood and have managed to maintain it since. The worst part – the utter torture – was Not Knowing. I think I went through the grieving process before we heard the final word.

I’m no longer hopeful this will be a viable pregnancy but were we to find a lil bean waving at us in there during the ultrasound next week it would definitely be a frickin amazing story to tell, wouldn’t it!? 😛

Log in to write a note
February 26, 2021

This happened to my daughter.

February 27, 2021

I’m not sure what’s going on, but you seem to be okay with what’s happening. I hope everything goes as you hope!