Could I be more vague? Probably.

The week that hosted Friday, March 13th was the week juuuuust before the government here officially locked shit down. We had tickets with a group of friends to go see a live musical at local theatre (front row seats to Rock of Ages) that night and we had all been discussing amongst ourselves whether or not we should go. By this time, Broadway had shut down, basketball, hockey, most Big Time stuff had all postponed themselves or announced cancelled seasons. So, we were hoping the decision to go (or not) to this rinky-dink-by-comparison local event would be taken from us. As it was, six of the nine of us had officially decided to go. My hubby didn’t want to go, my mom said she would go if we did so the decision was on me which I resented because, generally, my tendency is to vote to NOT do something if there is a choice and that is not necessarily fair to other normal adults! But the venue finally cancelled the show and the rest of their season about 4 hours before curtain and about 5 minutes after I decided that, Fine, we’ll go. PHEWF!

Wow… That was just under a month ago yet it seems like a very long time ago… especially considering not much has happened between then and now. If our city had any known cases, it had only one. There were zero deaths at that point. The Orange Potato was still claiming everything was under control. What a #ClusterTrump that has been. I am sooooo glad to be Canadian AND pleased to report than my claim that ANYONE would be a better leader than Lord Commander Marmalade has been validated by Premiere Ford here in Ontario. I don’t really like any of our options up here but I sure as hell prefer and would vote for ANY of them to lead if the other option was Drumpf.

Anyway…

Around March 18th Hubby’s workplace mandated that all of their workforce would be working remotely for the foreseeable future. They also gave all employees the ability to upgrade their home office to the amount of $1300 each. We ordered new desks and office chairs for both of us as well as a new smart tv and mount for the office wall. We spent $1300 on him that we claimed and $1300 on me which came out of his bonus/raise from last year. His work has weekly virtual meetings where video cameras are used by all attendees and non-work subjects are discussed — just to keep everyone connected. They also have offered people who didn’t use the entire portion of their office-upgrade allotment to donate it to the charity of their choice. Additionally, the company says they have contacted provincial/federal leadership and volunteered any help or expertise they can provide. The feeling is that this company and hubby’s managerial job are pretty secure at this point since most of the big worldwide companies use the thing for which hubby’s company is known in order to do/make their own things. Could I be more vague? Probably.

Having him home all the time is not a bother. We don’t really get on each other’s nerves. We’re coming up on that special time of the month for me, though, so I’ll report again after that.

He is finding this pandemic experience a lot more stressful than I am, that is for sure. He’s a bit moodier than usual – he’s not really the moody type, to put that in perspective.

I’m running out of writing steam now… will hopefully be back tomorrow.

Log in to write a note