Maybe time for some day-drinking…

Still enjoying being on lockdown! Though, I have to admit, the past few days have been a little tougher than normal because I had my period over the weekend and all the wonderful pain and grumpiness accompanying that. Also Hubby has been getting a bit more annoyed than usually with his work peeps which affects me because I hear him talking all day every day. I think it’s natural for him to be feeling more frustrated with people – these are strange times, even if it’s not THAT different from our everyday life pre-pandemic. Everyone is feeling a little off and varied degrees of focus so Common Sense is a little more scarce and questions may have to be answered repeatedly. Who knows what weird situations people are having to cope with – family members ill or dying or on the front lines… or just the regular chore of going to get groceries being 10 times more exhausting now… Anyway, my ears have perked up more frequently over the past little while when I hear him getting louder or more animated about things. I told him maybe he should start day-drinking (even though we don’t really drink ever lol).

He’s also been a little more on edge because our local McDonald’s (which we’ve been going to approx once or twice a week since lockdown started — through the drive-thru, for coffee and diet soft drinks) was closed down on Friday on account of an employee testing positive for Covid-19. When we drove by, the drive-thru was blocked off, there were two non-descript white vans parked outside and the windows were all covered and, sure enough, the local news reported that the building was being deep cleaned and all staff who had been in contact with the infected employee were being forced to isolate for 14 days. The last day the infected person worked was Easter Sunday afternoon, apparently. Thankfully, we were not there on that day. But, of course, that made him more concerned about my plan to go out on Monday (yesterday) to do our now-monthly shopping trip.

I won’t lie. The McD’s thing bothered me too. It made me, begrudgingly, decide to try to wipe down purchases from my trip as I packed them in the car before bringing them into the house so that I wouldn’t have to wipe down so much once it was inside. It made me slightly more trepidatious than last month’s shopping trip. I was mostly not looking forward to the exhaustion from such an effort, though. Having passed stores with significant outdoor line ups on Easter weekend, I anticipated this next trip taking longer than the six hours my last one took.

In reality, it only took me about 5 hours this time. I made a couple less stops and shopped for fewer people but the people I did shop for had larger orders. I only waited to get into a store at Walmart and I might not have had to wait there if I had gone earlier in the day instead of making it my last stop.

Anyway, I intend to write more about that trip and the previous one (if I haven’t already – my brain is suffering from Fibro Fog today) in another post soon but, in this one, I wanted to make some notes about the Nova Scotia shooting that occurred this weekend – the worst in Canada EVER.

Thankfully, no family or friends were killed or injured by that lunatic. Thank the good lord he was not able to get his hands on an automatic assault weapon!! I am proud of our country’s media and impressed that I didn’t even know the subject’s name until last night (Monday). I had spent some time in Enfield and Shubenacadie, NS with a former bf so I was curious to see if his name or face would come up on the screen at any point, interested to see what I would feel if he had been one of the victims (I doubt much, tbh). My cousin, BH, was one of the police officers on the scene and apparently only about 150 feet/metres (I forget which measurement I was told) from the guy when they took him down. BH’s mom called my mom who told me, as the information hotline tends to go…  We apparently knew from her (from him) details that the news had not yet broadcast. I really couldn’t tell you if that’s true or not, though, as I have avoided watching most of the news about this and, increasingly, news about Covid-19 in an effort to avoid sinking into another depression. I tend to feel pretty down around period time which could mean I’ll sink more unexpectedly.

Log in to write a note