Preggo

Am I hungry or am I gonna barf? Who knows.

True to the style of my life, I’ve had an interesting pregnancy experience so far.

In January, Aunt Flow was scheduled to visit on the 13th. On the 9th, I had cramping and brown spotting like I was going to get my period a bit early – not entirely unheard of for me to be irregular. Over that weekend, I made and ate the best grilled cheese sandwich I’ve ever made in my life. I used some crusty garlic bread, ham, cheddar and a -lot- of the leftover brie from Christmas. It was a huuuuge sammy. After devouring it, I proceeded to have the worst diarrhea of my life. Reluctantly, I treated myself with anti-poop meds and experienced the worst constipation of my life. I drank apple juice, cranberry juice, got some Release Me pills and powder from Walmart and prayed desperately for relief.

By the 14th, as things were starting to move again I realized my period didn’t ever come. I figured my recent innard trauma was probably at fault but, on a whim, tinkled on a pregnancy test. I keep a few dollar store sets around to assuage my occasional fixations. As I finished my bidniss I reached for the marinating test…

O.O

There was zero chance to consider how to tell my husband. No cutesy lil reveals in store for this couple. I flat out RAN to him in the kitchen, test in hand, with my arm stuck out as far as it would go. My eyes big as saucers and paler than usual, I’m sure. I tried not to react in order to allow him his own response but my violent attempt to do so when I was so utterly, deeply shocked clearly made an impact.

The next morning, I peed my first pee of the day on two more pregnancy tests. Name brand this time to ensure quality. Both positive. Called the doctor that morning and made a virtual appointment for 4 days later.

I was sent for blood work and given a requisition for an ultrasound which I was instructed to have done at 8 weeks, calculated from the first day of my last period (Dec 13th). We scheduled that for Feb 8th. We were told we were being referred to an OB-GYN which we still have not heard from.

Log in to write a note