5 Weeks

Thanks for the comments 🙂 Makes me feel like I have permisison to get all giddy and enjoy being pregnant! At work I have to hide it and its harder than it sounds. Im not showing or anything, and luckily I’m not throwing up, but I manage a restaurant. So my coworkers and even my boss are always talking about drinking, or taking massive shots of espresso. When my boss told me today that I should try and get out early from work tonight (we have a looooong thanksgiving week ahead), I was overjoyed! He told me to relax and drink a bottle of wine 🙂 Thats not exactly possible anymore! haha. What I’d like to do is sleep! I am pretty fatigued but only once I slow down for a minute, then it hits me. Its hard to keep things from slipping out of my mouth to people, like "i cant have caffeine" "I cant drink" or "I am soo tired I could just sleep for days!" haha. Those things alone dont spell out to much, but people at work know that me and Paul were getting close to wanting a family. People have already made little comments. I really have to proctect this from getting out prematurly. It would be so awkward if my boss found out, got all worried and freaked over covering the restaurant in my absense, and then I missacried. It would change our relationship I think.

Paul and I went running this morning, the usual 5K, but I didnt feel very good 🙁 I felt fine at first, but when I normally get my second wind, it just never came. I felt sluggish and tired and weak. I stopped and walked a few times which bummed me out a little, but I still got a great work out in. I was a little light headed afterwards because I was so thirsty (increased thirst all day long !!!) but I have to realize that I am pregnant and im not always going to function normally. I dont want to be too easy on myself, not work out, and gain a ton of weight. Thats not healthy for anyone! But I also cant be too hard on myself. If I dont feel good, I shouldnt do it. Thats my general plan. Some days I will feel great, and others I will have to take it slower. Oh well, thats what I have to do. I’m GOING to gain weight. Its inevidable. But I want to remain healthy through this thing, stay in shape, and that way labor will be easier and I will get my prepregnancy weight back easier. I want to be a healthy mommy first and foremost!

My bengal kitty is meowing his head off and its driving me nuts! He always cries to go outside now. we walk him on a leash and its great fun, but i think he’s getting addictited to it. He thinks everytime I am home, that he should be able to go outside for a walk. Not so much buddy!!!!

I slept 8 hours last night, got up and worked out, then went to an hour long meeting at work. Now Im home again taking a break before I have to go into the restuarant for the night, and I could seriously take a nap! I’m more tired this week than last. I am only 5 weeks so I imagine its only going to get stronger! But they say the first few weeks are the most tiring because your body is busy making the baby’s heart and the placenta, then its spine and brain and vital organs. Once that monumental task is overwith, mostly the making of the placenta, you begin to get your energy back. Hopefully I wont be TOO tired the whole first trimester. I have to get through these holidays at work!!!! Its going to be brutal. But once Janurary hits, my 2nd trimester starts and also work slows down a little bit. Im not complaining, I just worry about work. Work is A LOT right now, for anyone, much less a pregnant person. And I dont know what its like to BE a pregnant person yet, so im nervous about how i will cope with work. But the symtoms so far dont bother me at all. My boobs hurt but they are bigger and that is a huge perk! haha. Being tired is not so bad…I fall asleep easilly and that is nice for a change. When my mood swings and I start to freak out, its just a reminder that my precious child is growing inside me and I start to wonder how much he/she will look like my husband. I hope I have a boy and I hope I can see a lot of Paul in him. That would just be the ultimate. I think I will cry every time I look at him if that happens. If we do have a boy, Paul wants to name him Leo after his grandfather and I’m hoping to pick a middle name from my side of the family.The cool thing too is that my due date falls into the Leo zodiac sign, but right on the cusp. One due date is July 24, but by other calculations its more like July 22. July 24 is the Leo cut off! Its also the day my grandma died this past year. We will see what happens….can’t wait to meet this precious creation of ours already. This is truly incredible and I dont even know the half of it.

Log in to write a note
November 24, 2010

i absolutely love the name leo!! what a cool choice. <3<3