Mostly piss and money.

Just a few updates 🙂

Things are still good between me and Paul…getting a little tense again but I think there are many varriables at play there. We spent a few weeks apart (not in a row) this summer and when we were reunited it was feelin good (as they sing!). But now we have been together a shit ton, because Paul is barely working since its the off season, and sometimes that just leads to getting on each other nerves. If we had money it wouldnt be as bad. But we cant just GO and DO and SEE because it all costs money. So we do the best we can and sometimes we are around the house too much, thought we are always making the most of it by going on runs, cooking/eating together, playing with the baby, riding the in golf cart, swimming in the pool, occasionally the beach, etc. Its not like we sit and watch tv all day. But we do have a feeling of being "cooped up" because we want to do so many other things but cant afford it.

He did get me to start running again thought which I am glad for. We did P90x together right before I got pregnant. We finished it, then started just running and stuff, but I stopped when I was 6 weeks pregnant from any type of working out. I was working in the restaurant 6 days a week and completely exhausted. Then I had Lucy, and within a week I was back to pre-pregnancy weight. Then I was weighing much less than that for several months. That time when the baby is 0-6 months and youre breastfeeding nonstop is THE BEST when it comes to weight! I was like 10 pounds less than I weighed in highschool without doing any exersize and without any type of dieting. I was eating like a damned HORSE! But then……..when Lucy was 9 months I got my period back. 🙁 🙁 🙁 What a sad day! **collective sigh from women across the world** Ever since then, the weight doesnt fly off at ALL….actually it can start to accumulate just as easilly as it always did before baby. So sad. I started to notice I was gaining weight back when she was around 10 months or so maybe. Maybe 11. And now its like, shit. I have to work to keep this body in check again. Which really sucks. So i finally started wokring out. I am taking it slow but it feels good…up to running 2 miles straight and walking the other 2 for 4 miles total (today for example). Did some abs and weights in the gym the other day and ran on the treadmill. Its so freaking hot outside here that i cant run as far as i would like to; I know i could run longer but I get so weak and slow! Paul does too and he is a marathon runner so its not just me. We have a sick jogging stroller and all 3 of us go together. I’d like to get back down to what I was when I was when Lucy was about 6-7 months old but I just know thats going to be hard. THAT, was effortless. This is work! I have actual food cravings now! Boo! Im hoping I can run almost everyday, plus walking with Lucy in the stroller around town to run our errands as usual, plus riding the bike with her on the front just for fun, per the usual…..i’m hoping all this plus tons of swimming for fun will keep my weight in check.

I did the sleep lady Shuffle, as planned, and Lucy is doing great with sleep. I havent just put her in the crib and shut the door and walked away yet, but thats because I dont want to. I put her in the crib and sit in the hallway, within her line of sight; she watches to see where I am going, watches me sit down on my chair in the hallway, then lays down and goes to sleep. If she is having trouble falling asleep at first, she might sit up and check on me again, then lay back down, so I usually wait until she is asleep. This takes 5 minutes at bedtime, and maybe 10-15 minutes at her afternoon nap…….the morning nap is another story. She is almost 13 months so I know she is starting to transition to 1 nap and day, and dropping that morning nap. She is still taking that nap though, just sometimes a whole hour passes and she hasnt fallen alseep yet. So i will give up, take her out, play for a while, and try again when she gets crabby which is usually an hour later. Which pushes her afternoon nap back an hour too. But she still gets to bed on time, so i think this is all part of the transition.

She was sleeping through the night great too. But she started off waking up at 6:30am soaked with pee. Leaky diaper. Then it was 6am. Then it was 5:30 am! She kept waking up earlier and ealier, not FOR THE DAY, she was still tired and wanted to go back to sleep, but this was the pattern. Her diaper was soaked through by 6 usually (not ealier). But she kept waking up ealier because she was really enjoying and anticipating all the rocking and cuddling she was getting from me in the morning when I would attend to her diaper. So its like she was starting to wake up at all hours of the night, because I was starting to rock her more and take her out of the crib more (she wouldnt go back to sleep after the diaper leaks, no matter what!), she was starting to get used to that again!

It took 2 nights of putting a stop to that, once I found out a plan that worked to prevent the leaky diaper. No more leaks, no more taking her out of the crib before 7am, therefore no more waking up before 7am.

WHEW! happy mom here. Lets hope this works. Its only been a few days since we have found a solution to this. Today she woke up happy and giggling at about 7:20am and was an angel all day. Thats what good sleep will do for ya!

Just a boring update. But I enjoy having entries to read back on so I remember my life. Thought i’d better post SOMETHING! Happy friday all.

<3 E

Log in to write a note
August 11, 2012
August 13, 2012

You were back to your pre pregnancy weight within a week?!?!?! That’s crazy!! I’ve lost 14 pounds so far, but I’m still 20 above what I was pre pregnancy. Are you still breast feeding? Just not as much?