Unchained Melody; a song from my childhood 🥰

I know every time I make a post… I always post some kind of drama in my life.  Well, I decided to post something positive…something that reminds me of my childhood.

Since I was about 4 years old, I’ve been really into movies.  One of my dreams as a child was to either be an actress or create my own film; or both! Lol.

Well one movie I remember from my youth was Ghost.  Not only was it suspenseful, but the most memorable moment in this movie for me is the scene where the character “Sam”, who is the ghost in the film, wants to be able to physically touch the love of his life, Molly, again.  (I posted the scene in this post).  The song they used for that scene was, “Unchained Melody” by The Righteous Brothers.

Because of that scene, it’s one of the songs I absolutely love.  Every time I listen to it, it reminds me of that scene.  I remember when I was a little girl, thinking to myself, “When I grow up, I want my one love to look at and treat me the way Sam treats Molly.”  Of course I was young… but it’s definitely something that I think about that makes me happy and hopeful.

Of course, I know a lot of people know the song, lol.  It’s been around much longer than even my own mother.  But I am still going to share the lyrics as well as a clip of that scene, haha.

Here are the lyrics:

[Verse 1]
Oh, my love, my darling
I’ve hungered for your touch
, a long lonely time
And time goes by, so slowly and time can do so much
Are you, still mine?
I need your love, I need your love
Godspeed your love to me

[Verse 2]
Lonely rivers flow to the sea, to the sea
To the open arms of the sea
Lonely rivers cry, wait for me, wait for me
To the open arms, wait for me

[Verse 3]
My love, my darling, I’ve hungered for your kiss
Are you still mine?
I need your love, I need your love
Godspeed your love, to me

My favorite scene:

  • Anyway, I just thought I would share that in the early morning/late night. Lol.  Might make this as a category of movies that inspired me in some way.
Log in to write a note