Abigail Rose…and a picture

Abigail Rose was born December 3–a whole month and week early.

I started having contractions two days before she was born. Three trips to the ER, countless numbers of shots trying to stop the contractions and finally being told to go on bedrest couldn’t stop her early arrival. By the time the doctor told me that I could go ahead and have her, I was ready. I have never felt such pain. With Alex, the pain came quickly and I didn’t have to deal with it very long because I went into an emergency C-section. With Abby, I basically  had a couple of days of pain and then pain like I’ve never felt before for quite a few hours. I was GRATEFUL to get the epidural. I was practially BEGGING to have her.

After her birth, she was taken immediately to the NICU. I didn’t get to see her until the next day. When the nurse told me I shoud just wait to take a shower and relax some more, I defied her and got up from bed to take my shower and see Abby the day after the c-section. Abby was so tiny at just 5 pounds and 1 ounce. She quickly lost weight and was down to 4 pounds before long. I had to leave her when I went home from the hospital and she stayed in the NICU for 9 days.

Now she is home with us. She is the most precious, easy going baby imagineable. I felt a bond with her instantly. She is doing well and is now an 8 pound baby.

 

Log in to write a note