Stowe, Vermont.

Yesterday Rich and I were watching a preview of the new HGTV dream home give away. I fell in love with it. Not so much with the house, although it was okay. I fell in love with the area. Granted, what they showed of the area on tv was probably the "best" that the area had to offer. But I fell in love just the same.

"Let’s move there." That was my first reaction and response to Rich about the show.

"Ummm…where would we work? It’s an expensive area."

It wasn’t too many years ago that we sat together in front of a map with a piece of paper and a pencil making lists. Places we wanted to live. We could go ANYWHERE. There was nothing holding us where we were living at the time. Many lists and items later we ended up here in Florida, close to family so we could raise a family. It’s okay here, but not my dream location. Every change we make to the house, in the back of my mind there is the thought of "how will this be for resale?". My hopes for the future do not include this house. Or this area. But for now, this is home.

Still, I long for the days of lists and endless choices. I don’t have so many choices with a child. My choices consist of "do you want to draw a picture or take a walk?" If it were a few years ago, I might have had my dream home in Stowe, Vermont. Walking in the mountains. Skiing. Lounging in the beautiful spa that the show promises is there to wait on my every need and want.

 

Seeing Rich was being the practical one when told (not asked, mind you) that we were moving to Stowe, I changed my attitude a bit.

"Let’s go there on vacation."

Log in to write a note