The language problem from a different perspective

When I browsed my Twitter timeline, I found a very interesting post by a Japanese master student from the same university with me, Sussex. According to him, what he is sorry about is that he can speak English. I was shocked at first, because you know, what I struggle with the most here is ENGLISH. I have often difficulties even understanding what my flatmates say. Regarding it, it is easier for me to understand some programmes of radio, particularly news, and lecturers and maybe I mentioned before. They speak very clearly so it is easy to grasp for me.  What the young around twenties say is the most difficult to understand actually…. Anyway, let’s get back on track. I am very likely to wander off the topic.

The reason why he posted such tweet was that he always enjoy the process to get to understand new language. Because he can speak English well already, he cannot experience the process he is looking forward to. In other words, he is willing to engage in and is excited by a mysterious world where he cannot understand people’s conversation. I am not sure the word “mysterious” is suitable for this, but, I feel like living in a strange world about the fact that I cannot understand what people around me say fully.  He is from Japan like me but he seems to have background to live in an English-speaking country. It means that he has huge advantages in terms of living in the UK. However, it doesn’t matter. What is important is that I learnt some people enjoy this kind of the situation, living abroad literally! Because I only feel pressured, I’d never came up with such a positive idea. I have to make much effort continuously to improve my English of course, but I want to be a person who can look bright side of my situation.

Log in to write a note
September 30, 2018

I admire you for learning a second language. For going to a country where you have to use that second language. You are brilliant.

October 1, 2018

@snarkle Thank you for your encouraging comment!:)

October 1, 2018

@ank0 You are most welcome. My oldest son learned Japanese in college. I am functional in Spanish. I admire your courage and intelligence.

October 1, 2018

@snarkle It is very nice that your family have different language experiences a lot as well!

October 1, 2018

@ank0 My family is very broad minded and interested in other places languages and people. 😀