Busy Week

Right after my last entry I went over to get meds for the week setup for the Parental Unit and found them on the floor. Apparently, they fell at some point overnight and weren’t able to get to the phone or alert button. They were in remarkably good spirits but that all changed when I said I was calling an ambulance.

The good news is nothing was broken/fractured/dislocated/etc, the bad news is there’s no medical explanation as to why they fell. The hospital stay was about 4.5 days, and currently, they’re in a physical therapy rehab facility for an unknown amount of time. The last few days have been very relaxing for me. Since they have 24-hour care I’ve been able to sleep and yesterday I was able to enjoy the day doing things I wanted to do! I make no apologies for how that sounds. For the last 3 years, I’ve been over to their apartment almost every day without fail for something or another. I love them but I’m also very, very tired.

I’d put in for vacation a few weeks ago for next week and I thought about canceling it but with around-the-clock care, I decided that I’m going camping at a place I’ve never been before. I thought I would feel … bad about this decision but I don’t. I’m excited. Like, really really excited! I will have cell phone coverage for any issues that come up and I’ve told my sibling that they’re the first line contact for the next 2 weeks. It’s time to pull their weight.

Being able to live my life the last few days has made me realize exactly how much I have on my shoulders and how exhausting it’s been. I’m not going back to the way things were. I can’t. PU is going to have to understand that I need help that’s actually around and able to help when I need it and not just give “pep” talks over the phone which are completely and utterly useless.

Going forward things are going to change.

Log in to write a note