I Did It!

Went for my 3 month bloodwork yesterday to see how my efforts to get my type II diabetes under control was doing. My fasting glucose in early May was 230, on Friday it was 83! My A1C was 10% in May which is “uncontrolled”, on Friday it was 5.6% which is “normal” (above 5.6% is prediabetes). My weight in May was 319lbs, on Friday it was 281lbs! The biggest change I made was cutting out all soda, candy, cakes, cookies and really any thing with added sugar. I also gravitated to a somewhat keto diet. I’ve found I prefer higher fats from things like nuts, avocados, etc as it keeps me feeling full for longer.

I go see my doc on Friday for the in-person follow up. I’m very happy and relived that my metabolism seems to be bouncing back from the years of eating like shit and not taking care of myself. This was definitely a wake up call and the changes I’ve made are ones that I can stick to. I’ve been eating things I enjoy like pizza for the last few weeks and I don’t feel an ounce of guilt and I don’t obsess about the day I “can” eat them. I know how my body reacts well enough now that I can adjust on the front end to plan or adjust on the backend to keep things under control. I also don’t feel an overwhelming urge for the things I used to eat, which is a definitely improvement for my mental state. I’m super happy but I realize that this is something I will have to keep an eye on for the rest of my life. Not only is the diabetes basically gone but my triglycerides and cholesterol are perfectly normal!

Talk Soon.

Log in to write a note
August 8, 2021

Yay you!  I’m type 2 diabetes with the same goals. It’s exciting to see your triumph!

August 8, 2021

WELL DONE!!

August 8, 2021

Congratulations!  My recent A1c was 8.2, so I’ve got some work to do!   I’ll follow your shining example!

August 8, 2021

Congratulations! I’m in that same boat of needing to drop my A1C. Couldn’t have gallbladder surgery because my A1C was too high. I’ll know in October if it’s dropped enough. I don’t think I’ll hit that 5.6, but I’ll give it a shot.

August 8, 2021

Yay you! Good work!