all the fuckin’ work I need

After boasting no more than a couple hours sleep for a few days in a row, I finally got a good solid ten last night, and woke up feeling like I had been hulk-smashed at some point in my sleep. Too much goddamn man’s work. First attempt at replacing the rear suspension system in my car was a complete failure; all I managed to do was snap my emergency brake cable and strip one of the nuts on the bolt that connects the shock to the knuckle. Second attempt was a bit more successful, as I had a full garage of tools and a little help from a couple grease monkeys at my room mate’s factory maintenance garage– though their help abruptly ended after only getting one side installed, so my car is currently lop-sided. Initially the only help they had for me was in telling me that what I was about to attempt was impossible, and that I was more or less an idiot for even trying– not that I heard that part, of course. They had me at "impossible," and little by little I coaxed them to help me disconnect more and more stuff until, finally, we accomplished the "impossible" and got the spring in there without a spring compressor (which I made up for by gripping the fender, standing on the control arm, and doing a cartoon STREEEETCH to push it down just far enough so that he could pry the spring in with a crow bar). No idea how I’m going to pull off the second one without his help, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get there. I’m trying to come up with a way to use a jack to jack something down, but the jury is still out on that idea. But still, lop-sided or not; PROGRESS. Of the laundry list of important machines in my life that have failed this week, we have my car as the star– with it’s completely broken rear springs, shocks, and struts– not to mention its exhaust hangers that I also have yet to deal with, which I’ll also have to jerry-rig; my lap top’s hinge, which has rendered my laptop computer without the ability to CLOSE; and my back, which, like I said, feels a bit hulk-smashy as of late. So far, we’ve got 20% of this list out of the red, and into the black, but there’s a long way to go, and my budget consists of pretty much zero dollars, forcing me to tap into my ingenuity and creativity reserves to accomplish all of this nonsense, in between working 10 day work weeks (sounds impossible, I know, but we all know how well I get along with that particular word).

 

 

Log in to write a note