The Problem With Pro-Choice

I should preface this with the acknowledgement that I am somewhat old fashioned in my views regarding gender roles, and tend to treat most women more as cherished objects than as equals. I retain a set of convictions based on pattern analysis behind this behavior, but despite the apparent chauvinism in the women as objects philosophy, I first and foremost strive to always avoid imposing my personal will upon another human being, and safeguard against those who would. Sometime ago I wrote a little bit promoting the Pro-Life agenda, from what I perceived to be a somewhat eccentric angle, and now months later I have been plagued with an equally eccentric approach at attacking the Pro-Choice agenda. I have been resisting logging it, as it initially seemed absurd to me (and justly so, as it hit me somewhat out of the blue), but as the days passed the idea simply refused to die…and instead, much to my surprise, it began growing in scope and logical application.

My initial thought; "Pro-Choice" is sexist. Although it takes two to reproduce, women are the only ones that get any choice. Men have absolutely no legal say in the matter, and can wind up suffering child-support payments for a woman’s bad choice in selfishly keeping a kid she can’t raise. To make matters even more biased, there’s no contraceptive for men short of a vasectomy, save condoms– which everyone knows are a tremendous pain in the ass…one that men alone usually end up dealing with, because women don’t want their precious fingers smelling like rubber gloves. The entire sexual/medical industry is accidentally designed to screw men over, after overcompensating for the wrong-doing done to women over the last several millennia. Women argue that it’s their body, but technically it’s the child’s body…a 50/50 ownership between the man and the woman. There is no genderless choice option in "pro choice," and if men don’t get one, neither should women.

See what I mean about it sounding completely audacious and ridiculous?

But think about it for a moment…the element of choice alone, regarding the altering of an event that would shape our lives into something entirely different, opens the door for the aversion of obvious short-term consequences, at the cost of abandoning imperceivable long-term rewards. This is essentially what most christians argue, only they allow their "blind, ignorant, morality" to become a scapegoat for a very logical, and reasonable truth– that some of the choices that get made for us, through fate or otherwise, that seem to have terrible life-ending consequences initially, tend to turn into enormous blessings over time, and bear fruit that we could never imagine living without.

And to put this option of sacrificing long-term happiness for short-term happiness on women alone of all creatures is downright lunacy. Women, who wouldn’t know what was best for them them if it bitch-slapped them across the room like an abusive boyfriend. Women, who would flush a twelve year friendship with another girl straight down the drain just to steal her boyfriend. Women, who in their doe-eyed sheepishness are far more susceptible to persuasion, and therefore far more vulnerable to being talked into an abortion by a typically un-rooted baby daddy.

I think two choices should be taken away; a man’s choice to abandon his child (particularly since his role in a child’s life, mentally and emotionally, is far more important than the child’s mother), and a man’s choice to try to persuade his woman to choose an abortion, so he can continue fucking other women after he gets rid of you…

Log in to write a note

you meant to say vasectomy, not hysterectomy, that means taking out a woman’s uterus. As for the rest, I’m not even going to comment, I am so pissed off at the 5th paragraph…I don’t think it’s really worth starting a war with you that certainly won’t change your mind. But women do indeed think and feel, even if it is not done in ways that you would, or that you approve of..therefore they are..

…indeed human, and not infact objects, which can be cherished for their beauty or uses or even sentimental value, but can never be loved the way a thinking, feeling creature can. Haven’t you ever loved a woman? ; )

your welcome for the correction, when I am typing fast and my mind is going and going writing an entry, I have lots of problems typing a different word than my mind is actually thinking so I totally relate, but I just don’t want to proofread every entry because I spend too much time on the comp already. As for proving you wrong, well I spent about a decade proving a certain man wrong about…

that and let me tell you it took a HELL of a lot of work…a hell of a lot of well put words, which I am good at, but I mean a LOT, I’ve written the equivalent probably of a library…. and long exhausted nights spent awake taking care of him…and it’s not over, now I have to prove to him that I can do the things needed to be done to love him in the real world, which I intend to. I’m very ….

much looking for to the rewards of that. As many men like you probably say, it’s not all about words, it’s about action. As for proving you wrong, no offense, but I don’t know if I can go through all that again…it sounds like it would take a hell of a lot of well chosen words to change your mind and more..and then I am not in love with you, so it’s not quite the same. All I’ll say is that…

sometimes when we experience one thing for our whole life and it seems to happen again and again, we accept that thing as our “truth”. Which is totally natural, especially when you’ve been hit on the head with it again and again and again. But the truth is each of us only experiences a tiny portion of all there is to experience…no matter how overwhelming it is to us personally and for how….

incredibly long it goes on in relation to our short lifetimes. The actual truth may be totally different an/or partially the same but endlessly more complicated than you think it is based on your own life and experience. (particularly since his role in a child’s life, mentally and emotionally, is far more important than the child’s mother) you don’t really think that. that is not a question…

…nor and order, nor an assumption. (nor do I mean any offense to you, I actually think you are quite brilliant.) just the truth. you don’t really think that.

women more as cherished objects than as equals. :O blick i kept on with a blind eye until the end. i dont have a thought on abortion. i thought this was interesting: “(particularly since his role in a child’s life, mentally and emotionally, is far more important than the child’s mother)”. i wonder what do you mean by this?? you meant equally important?

Wow. I bet THIS entry got a lot of hate-notes… Anyhow, you know from a strange purely-logical standpoint your arguments make perfect sense. But then again, why not just take choice away from everyone? Why not have the government make all the decisions for ya? I mean, that is what people want, right? Freedom from responsibility… and the cost of choice, is living with the responsibility of whatever you choose to do. SO…no choice, no consequence, no responsibility. Ideal world for most people.