The 11th Commandment

When Judas slipped away from the dinner party Jesus knew it was time. He knew that Judas was betraying him, for money. He knew and yet he let him go. Instead of calling him out to save his own life, he turned to the remaining 11 and said “love one another”.  Jesus knew the end from the beginning and understood what had to happen to save us all. But us, we don’t see time like God, we don’t have peace with the future of this life (even when we believe in the the future of eternal life). We live in a world of self preservation.

This pandemic has really shown some true colors. My liberal friends have become super left and my conservative friends have become super right. What’s left in the middle – LOVE. I can’t believe some of my “Christian” friends who have become hateful, revengeful believers in The State. Personal Liberty is being placed above Human Rights. And I don’t mean laws set to protect people from hate and discrimination. I mean Human Rights – as in the right we all have to breathe in and out, to drink water and eat food, to grow and experience His love. Even if you don’t believe in His love – you have the right to enjoy the life you live.

Right now, the big political topic is masks – to wear one or not to wear one.  The pro-mask campaign says “it’s not about you, wear a mask to keep ME safe” and the anti-mask campaign says “it’s not my job to protect you. You do you and I’ll do me”. I am floored by the number of my personal friends who have taken the later stance.  Maybe masks work, maybe they don’t. whichever side you are on, the second you say that the other people you share the world with are not your responsibility – you are on the wrong side of Love.

If I see an old woman fall down in a store – it is my responsibility to help her up, ask if she is okay and get help if its needed.

If I see a car accident happen – it is my responsibility to pull over, see if my help is needed, get help if it is.

If I see a child who is lost – it is my responsibility to help that child locate his parents.

If I see someone being bullied – it is my responsibility to stand up for that person against hate.

If I know someone is being abused – it is my responsibility to get help.

If I know someone is drowning – it is my responsibility to reach out my hand and pull them out.

Why is it my responsibility? Because I am a lamb of God. Because I was called to love. Jesus did not say love one another if it doesn’t put you out. Or if you have time. Or if it won’t look bad for you. Or if they believe the same things as you.  He said Love One Another Period. That means no matter what.  That means when their skin is different, LOVE.  their beliefs are different, LOVE. their life style is different,  LOVE. their sexual orientation is different, LOVE. their health status is different, LOVE  their political stance is different, LOVE.  their financial status is different. LOVE.

It’s not my job to decide who to love – that decision was already made – Love everyone. It is my responsibility to be an example of The Kingdom. Be an example and love without regard.

So maybe masks don’t work – I believe they do.  I am going to wear one because I love you. Because I will put my ‘personal liberty’ aside to show love and compassion for you.

Log in to write a note