First Entry

This is my first entry in my new diary. I had an old one bu forgot my user name, password and old email. So,after a long hiatus, I decided to start a new one. A lot of things have changed. I can no longer live by myself. I have very bad arthritis and can no longer walk. I also have severe urinary incontinence among other things. I’ve been in this nursing home going on sixteen months. It isn’t so bad here but I’ve had to go through some major adjustments.

No doubt the hardest thing I have to put up with is peeing all the time. It  comes out so fast. I’m wheelchair bound and cannot get to the urinal half the time. I wear briefs and the aids must change them. Since I go a lot this makes extra work. A couple nights ago one of the nurses chewed me out good for not using the urinal. She really got on my case and this bothered me very much for a few days.

I mean it’s not like I do it on purpose. I am 70 years old  and can’t control my bladder. It is bad enough I wear diapers and need somebody  to change them. But then I have to worry about getting yelled at and treated like a two year old. I find it very humiliating especially after that confrontation with the nurse.

Other than that it is not so bad here. I get good care for the most part. The food is good I pay $474 a month for rent and that includes food, basic cable, phone  and even free WiFi connection. When my tablet was broken the nursing home was kind enough to loan me a tablet until I can afford a new one. I’m lucky to be here and I can’t really say too many bad things about this place.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
kat
September 20, 2021

Welcome

September 20, 2021

Welcome! Looking forward to you being here. It’s a great community as you may already know  🙂

September 21, 2021

Please keep writing! It helps.

I am so sorry you got chewed out. I am 32 but have arthritis. I don’t have to go frequently but when I do it is urgent and sometimes I struggle to get up fast enough. The body can be a prison at times. But we make the best of what we can I guess.

September 21, 2021

Hi, and welcome! I’m incontinent, too, and sometimes don’t make it. It feels humiliating. I’m sorry you got scolded. Health workers shouldn’t do that. Anyway, I’m glad you are here.