Friday 2/3/23

5:09a.m. I’m above the dirt. I feel pretty good this morning. I was put to bed at 11:30 last night. I had a good night’s sleep with no nightmares.  I slept until the aide got me out of bed at five. I feel  rested and mood is calm. The day is starting out to be a good one. 

It is going to stay that way. I choose to have a good day! I choose not to dwell on my ex or even look at her diary!I choose to be happy. After all, just about everything happens because ofa choice we make. Even the emotions we feel come from a choice. So today I choose to be happy and not dwell upon the breakup.

Also, I will stay awake today.  I get my SS check today I have bills to pay and books to buy. I’m behind on my reading so I got to play catch up.  Then there is the coffee news hour social. I would to attend that function. So I have things to and books to read. This is no time for wallowing. Life is too short.

7:56a.m. I had my coffee and breakfast. I had a sausage paddy, scrambled eggs and oatmeal cereal. It was ok and I ate it all Now I’m waiting on the bank to open to check on my balance. Then I will make a credit card payment to Capital One b and Credit One. Then call billing and pay my rent of  $583

I’m not sure how many or what books to buy. I think I’m only going to buy two book. I want to get tat one Indivisible: Daniel Webster and the Birth of American Nationalism for certain. I think I should stop there and make it three this month. I bought two on the first. Three should be enough.for a month 

9:01a.m. I made my Capitol One payment of $760.00 I had a bit more in the bank than anticipated. But I am not a happy resident. I have been sitting in poop and urine since breakfast. I told them a couple of times Aide was very nasty. “Hold on!” she kept saying. It is very hard to stay positive while sitting  in pee and poop.

I just got changed. I feel better and she turned out to be nice. I even got dressed in pants and a shirt.  They are having that coffee social and I am going. 

11:56p.m. I went to the coffee social. I had two cups of coffee. I sat with a couple ladies. We didn’t talk. I did say hi to them but got no response. At least I made the attempt to socialize. It does take two and you can’t force anyone to have a conversation with you. I still had a good time I. I enjoyed getting out of my room a bit and then coffee worked its  magic. 

I got back to my room after an hour. I made a payment of $50. I was $10 over the credit limit so my available credit was $40. I bought a book with the audible narration. Destiny and Power: Thew American Odessy of George Herbert Walker Bush by Jon Meachum for $25.98. Yesterday I bought two books by Lynne Cheney. The Virginia Dynasty: Four Presidents and the Creation of the American Nation.Plus James Madison: A Life Reconsidered . That makes three books so far this month.

I had a good lunch. I had two bowls of beef stew, a salad, dinner roll and sliced peaches for desert. For drinks I had a cup of coffee and a fruit punch. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and ate it all. 

I’m having a great day.  I bought three books so far. Books always makes me happy. Then I got dressed and out of my room when I went to the coffee social. Then I had a great lunch  Also, they must put something in my coffee because that put me in a good mood. Life is good 

3:48p.m. I slept for a couple hours.I had a nice nap.i think I slept most of the day away. I hope I can stay up and read. They will be serving dinner soon. According to the menu , I’m having vegetable soup, fish fillet sandwich, tater tots and fruit sherbert. 

I got a card today . It was a nice card from aj woman I don’t know. I do not know how this person got my name and address it is kind of scarry.Still, it was nice to get a card from someone. I wonder if she has a secret crush von me. 

Mood is pretty good. I am not experiencing too much pain. I think I’m at the point where I can accept the breakup. At least I’m not dwelling on it or lurking on her diary. I’m moving on and I’m determined not to let this hurt me To be honest, it is rather pleasant to be free of her drama. 

They have the drinks cart out in the hallway. I hope I will be getting my coffee and juice soon. I can always use a caffeine fix. 

6:23p.m. I just had supper. It was good. I had two fish sandwiches. Day is coming to an end. It was a great day. I hope to stay up and read tonight I am behind and need to get back to my book. 

10:16p.m. I am having a drama free day. I spent over two hours reading my book From Colony to Superpower : United States Foreign Relations since 1776 by George C Herring I’m starting to read Chapter 10. It’s about foreign relations during Woodrow Wilson’s administration.  I listened to the first few pages then fell asleep. I’m starting over tonight.

I was ready to be put to bed but now I am wide awake. I’d like to stay up until midnight and read as much as I can. I’m on a roll here and I hate to stop. I shall read until I drop. 

10:59p.m. On second thought it is getting late and I’m about to drop. I’ll save chapter ten for tomorrow. I can’t see starting a chapter and not being able to finish it. I have been book browsing on Amazon. Here is a list of book I’m interested in: 

  1. Indivisible: Daniel Webster and the Birth of American Nationalism by Joel Richard Paul $27.98
  2. The Making of the Atomic Bomb by Richard Rhodes $27.98
  3. A people’s History of the Supreme Court : The Men and Women Whose Cases and Decisions Have Shaped our Constitution by Peter Irons.    $22.98

I think I should stop at three. Total comes to $78.94. This batch tomorrow will make six books. I had don’t want to go over budget then cry to the nursing home I can’t afford my rent. I got to have $583 for rent.

I just found an audible book I got to have Vietnam: A History by Stanley Karnow for $23.99. This will bring the total up to $102.92.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 3, 2023

What books will you be buying?  You should definitely go to the coffee social…that would be fun.

February 3, 2023

@happyathome See the 11:57 section for a list of books I bought. I did go to the social and had a good time I hope you are having a great day