Tuesday 1/25/22

246am I slept good. I feel a bit better. Pain level is done own to a three Ii think elevating my legs helped. Once in awhile I’ll get a muscle spasm that hurts like a son of a b but they are infrequent. I think I will live after all.

I had some dreams I don’t want to go into. At least they were not the screaming nightmare kind . Im not ashamed of them. I just remember parts of them  perhaps it is for the best

I am determined to get out of bed today. Tired of being bed ridden . Also want to get back to reading my book. I was just too sick to concentrate. But I’m better now and want to start reading again.

6:31am I’m in my wheelchair. I got up around three. Pain in my legs subsided since getting in my chair. I’m still sleepy and part of me wishes I was back in bed. At least I’m not dealing with too much pain. I’m also reading The Target by David Baldacci. So I achieved two of my goals. getting out of bed and reading.

I’m reading a very good book. I started reading a chapter where Baldacci introduces a North Korean character. She starts out being held in a very tightly secure prison camp. She is being tortured by the guards and the commandant. He wants to make her is sex slave if she doesn’t come up with a bribe to help het escape. In reality she is an assassin hired by the government to kill the commandant. She succeeds in her mission.

The story switches back to Will Robie and Jessica Reel. They are all in a CIA secure facility known as “The Burner.” They are going through a reabilitation program to determine if they are fit for another mission. This mission is the biggest the CIA planned in it’s history. At least that is what they were told. Both of them believe they were sent there to die.

Just had my breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast, and hot cereal. I had coffee and oj for drinks. I ate everything but the cereal. Also talking to Chocolatechip. She had a good night. Nobody knocked on her door which was a good thing. I was telling her I got up in my chair at three. I also said pain isn’t as bad when I’m in my wheelchair. Told her I feel a lot better today

That’s about it for now. I’m going to read for awhile. Life is good

8:48am I’m doing pretty good this morning. Arthritis pain is down to a one. I only had one incontinence episodes. Aid I had was very nice. Breakfast was good and the coffee hot. I am sitting in my wheelchair reading my book. Chocolatechip is doing ok today. Things cannot be better.

It is getting close to the end of the month. I have been thinking of finances.  The more I think about it the more I want to buy another tablet. I can use the new one as a backup. I am addicted to these damned tablets and my ebooks. I don’t want my tablet breaking down in the middle of the month and not having money to buy another.

I just got a bill from the nursing home. Rent is $483 for February.This is not bad. I get three meals a day, medical care, phone, internet and cable. I have a piece retty good set up. I bitch about this place but I’m lucky to have all this. Life is good.

I was looking at tablets on Amazon. I saw a Priton Tablet for $128 something. I think I will buy it. Let’s see $825 SS check minus $483.00 leaves $372. Credit card will take out $60 which leaves $312.00 Tablet will cost $128.00 whiic will leave $184.00 I can buy books with this money but I’m not planning on buying too many books. Want to read what I already bought first. I say this at the end of every month but then go crazy.

10:15am They must have given me an extra happy pill with my morning meds. I feel so good today. It’s like I don’t have a care in the world. I feel a bit wired up right now but it is better than feeling utired all the time. I don’t know the cause of this feeling. I know one thing. I am not taking it for granted. It is better to be wired up than to feel you are on death’s doorstep.

I have been looking at books. Stephen King is coming out with a new book. I put it on my wish list. Also I might buy a few more books next month. I just can’t help myself with this tablet and a credit card. I can go broke without leaving home.

They say a fool and his money are soon parted. I must be the biggest fool around. Oh well, at least I don’t blow my money on gambling. alcohol or drugs. I always make sure the nursing home is paid. When I lived independently I made sure I had all the necessities, rent and Comcast was paid? Then I would spend whatever was left over on books. I spent too much money but I did my best to be responsible.

Besides, books are a necessity to me. Asking me not to buy books is like asking me not to breathe. I go through a lot of books in a month when feeling good. So I try to read everything I buy . I feel my money isn’t wasted on books because they mean so much to me. I live to read.

Most of the books I’ve been looking at are by Robert Called. they are:

  • An Unfinished Life: John F Kennedy 1917-1963.      $10.99
  • Nixon and Kissinger:Partners in Power.                 $  7.99
  • How did We get Here From TR to Donald Trump. $11.99
  • The Lost Peace.                                                               $8.49
  • Flawed Giant: LBJ and his Times 1961-1973.           $17.99

This will cost $57.45 I will also buy a book by David O Steward called Impeached. It’s about the impeachment of Andrew Johnson and the legacy of Lincoln for $13.99. The total amount for books is $71.44  I don’t think this is too bad for an addiction.

12:20pm I just had lunch. I had roast pork with mashed potatoes and gravy and peas.  I had jello for desert. It was pretty good. Also had coffee and a fruit punch for drinks. I ate most of it except for the peas. I’m doing good. Appetite is a lot better when I’m not in pain..

Life is good today. I only hope these good feelings lasts.

3:13pm I did a lot of reading this afternoon..j I’m still reading The Target by David Baldacci. It is getting good. I’m at the point where the illegal assignation is being revealed. It is to assinate the North Korean leader. This North Korean assassin tracks down the plot. A very trusted general,a General Park is involved. The assassin,a woman, I mentioned before uncovers the plot. She tracks down a suspected British agent and kills him in Europe. She steals his wallet and secure password. She calls this number and the General answers.

In the meantime Will Robie and Jessica Reel make it through “The Burner.” They were supposed to go after the North Korea n leader. They were not expected to get out alive. But that mission was compromised. The traitorous Korean General heads for France. Will and Jessica are sent there to kill General Pals. But he knows the Americans and North Korean officials are after him. He kills himself instead.

This book has a lot of twists and turns to it. But they will all come together in the end.it is a very good book.

I’ve been talking with Chocolatechip. She is in good spirits. She got her packages today. She will still deal with this one catalog company but not Harriet Carter.Her worker Sue came today and did a lot for her. She said this Sue person is nice and a good worker. I am glad Chocolatechip has the help she needs. I hope Sue does not quit on her.

I do not know how much longer I can use this tablet. Batter level is down to 23% capacity. My roommate is charging up his cell phone. Damn, my book is getting good but I won’t be able to get to it because of no power. Oh well it was going all day and I enjoyed my book.

6:58pm I’m the luckiest man. My roommate is letting me use his charger. This means so much to me. I will never forget his kindness. Not too many people have shown me kindness. But I don’t want to go into that.

I had supper. I had a grilled cheese sandwiches, potatoes and tomato soup. I ate the sandwich. I had mashed potatoes for lunch. I couldn’t stomach eating potatoes twice in one day. Needless to say I didn’t have much of a supper. About the only thing good was the hot coffee and fruit punch.

Talked with Chocolatechip after supper. She took an exam for her correspondence course. She got a hundred percent. She is carrying an A average now. We had a nice long conversation until she got tired. We talked about a lot of different things. She is confused about her new debit card for one thing. So am I frankly.  She bought some things from Harriet Carter. They are supposed to be in transit. Then she said Ameri Mart charged her. I said maybe they are the same.

I only ate the grilled cheese sandwich but still felt very bloated. It was painful but it is subsiding now. No matter how much Or how little I eat I get bloated. Sometimes it can be very painful at times.

Well, it is seven and the day is almost over. I had a good day today with no arthritis pain. I only had two incontinence episodes. My overall mood was upbeat and cheerful. This was a very, very good day.

I hope I get get to bed early tonight. I was up at three this morning at my choice. Still, that’s sixteen hrs in this wheelchair. I’m not tired or sleepy, I’d just like to go to bed and get out of the wheelchair.

Well I’m going to read for awhile then hopefully go to bed

7:49pm I’m still kind of wound up. I hope I settle myself down before bedtime. I’ve been thinking about a lot of things. First and foremost is buying that damned tablet. Second how many books I can afford to buy. I’m really looking forward to getting my SS check so I can buy more books.

I am just speculating that finances got me wired up. I honestly do not know. All I know is I feel I could jump out of my wheelchair and dancer. I felt like this all day long. I think being pain free had a good deal to do with it. Then reading a lot always puts me in a good mood. I really do not know. All I know is that I’m alive and I feel like kicking ass.

So there isn’t one particular thing that is making me happy. It is a combination of things. Getting close to payday is one Being free of pain is another. Chocolatechip having a good day is another factor. I keep thinking about all of this stuff and it makes me so happy. I’m besides myself with joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 26, 2022

I am happy you had such a really good day :-). I love books as much as you do and can’t imagine not reading.  I mostly read on my phone but also sometimes like to actually hold a book in my hands.  I am usually reading two books at the same time depending on where I am.  If I am in bed I read on my phone.  If I am sitting on my patio I am holding a real book.  They bring me a lot of joy.