Tuesday 5/16/23

6:50a.m. I had a decent night for a  change. I was put to bed very early. I had a good aide who gave me a nice sponge bath and put lotion on my sore spots. She went an extra mile to make sure I was comfortable. She was the same aide who was on the ball in changing me yesterday afternoon. I wish all CNAs were like her.

I stayed up to read for about an hour. I got through half of Chapter 14 then got sleepy. I had a good night’s sleep with mini um pain. The night aide even came in to change me a couple times.i was not laying in urine and feces all nighr.

The aides got me up at 5 this morning. I sleep t in my wheelchair for an hour or so. Chocolatechip called. She was in good spirits. We talked briefly until they served breakfast drinks. I was  only give. One coffee and a glass of orange juice.It was enough to get me started.

So, I’m above the dirt and blessed with another day. It is starting out good and I hope it continues. 

9:50a.m. I had scrambled eggs,two pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast. It was good and I ate it all. I did some reading in my book. I finished Chapter 14 in my book At the Highest Levels by Michael Beschloss and Strobe Talbott. I got a bit sleepy then and fell asleep for awhile. 

Aide just changed me and I am all ready for the coffee social. I can’t wait to get my donut and caffeine fix. I also want to to start on the next chapter in my book At the Highest Levels by Michael Beschloss and Strobe Talbott. It seems I’ve been reading this book forever. I want to get it finished.

1:57p.m. I made it to the Coffee Social. I had to get myself down but I managed. I did a lot of reading while in the Fiesta Room.i finished Chapter 14 in my book. I had two cups of coffee and two glasses of chocolate milk, no donuts today. I ate two chicken tacos for lunch. Ij was pretty full from the chocolate milk.

As usual I had a good time. I sit by myself and nobody talks to me. But that is ok. I get involved in reading my book anyways. I would rather read than do most anything else.

I just got back from physical therapy. I got a new wheelchair. They also used that diathermy machine. Then they keep trying to get me to do the exercise bike.i refuse. It is just too painful to move my legs. So they took me back to my room after they were finished with my knees. 

3:56p.m. I’ve been talking to Chocolatechip. She was telling me about a news story in the Weirton Daily Times concerning the Weirton Transit. Their levy did not pass. The Transit had no money. The article said there will not be services for June. This is going to hurt a lot of people who depend on the bus service. The shut down is only supposed to be for one month, according to the article. But I was thinking they might not reopen. If this is the case how will Chocolatechip come visit me when I go to the WGC?

Chocolatechip was also received notice that the building’s annual inspection will be held on the 26th and 27th. She talked about getting ready for it.Your place is always immaculate and I’m sure you’ll pass. She said she has one more big load of laundry to do. She will do that tomorrow morning then get start getting ready for inspection. She had ten days to get ready. This is plenty of time.

We talked about how I always ended up a basket case during  inspection. Inspections always were a great source of anxiety. I told her one year I was up for three strait days getting ready for it. I also said one year, after busting my butt off, he came in and yelled at me “You call this clean!?” I was always terrified of not passing and being subject to eviction. 

Chocolatechip also talked about how her neurologist want sher to go to Morgantown for testing. This is going to be a very long and thorough evaluation. They had this scheduled a year ago. But the trip was causing her so much anxiety she cancelled. This time she intends to take it. I said you should get someone to go with you. Chocolatechip said her one daughter Theresa might go. She also said Motivecare will take her down and back. 

We talked for a long time on the phone. Then she got a text message . She had to go. I enjoyed our conversation 

6:45p.m. I had two sloppy joes, potato salad ,cream of broccoli soup and pineapple tidbits. They didn’t have coffee tonight because of no water. I enjoyed the sandwiches and ate it all. I talked with Chocolatechip after i ate. We talked about inspection coming up. She was thinking about taking a correspondence course in psychology. We talked for about a a half hour then she went to bed. 

Well this was a good day today. I did a lot of reading at the social. Sores on my butt and thighs were not hurting. I was not too depressed. But more important i received great care. I was not lying in urine half the day. I only hope i get good care tonight. Only thing wrong was I’m failing at physical therapy. I just cannot do that damned exercise bike.

I hope to do some more reading tonight. I’d like to read Chapter 15 in my book At the Highest Levels. I feel pretty alert despite no coffee tonight. So i think I can accomplish my goal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note