Tuesday 5/30/23

5:07p.m. I’m above the dirt. I had a good night with minimum pain. Aides checked on me and changed my briefs so I was not laying in urine half the night. They woke me up at five.bi was dressed in pants. Sitting on the hoyer pad doesn’t hurt so much when I have clothes on. Aide was very nice this morning. I have nothing to bitch about.

I just had breakfast I ate four slices of toast and scrambled eggs. Also had a coffee and a glass of orange juice. I just couldn’t tackle the oatmeal cereal for some reason. I had enoght to eat anyways.

I talked with Chocolatechip after I ate. She was talking about her trip to Morgantown which is on June 1. Her daughter Theresa will take her.  I’m kind of glad Theresa is taking her. It turned out insurance will not pay for someone to stay with her four hours. So her daughter is stepping up to the plate.

I’m going to have a good day. My day is starting out much better. I had a nice aide who took care of me. I had a good breakfast. Chocolatechip is having a good day. I’m not in excruciating pain.  Today will be a better day.

11:23a.m. I made it to the Coffee Social after all. I got down there myself after an aide hooked me up to my oxygen tank. It wasn’t easy but I did it without help. I’m glad I’m here because I’m having a good time. I have been reading my book The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. I also had one coffee and a donut. It doesn’t get any better than this.

I chatted with Chocolatechip. She is having a great day as well.  Her key to happiness is to stay clear of the afternoon/evening parking lot people. She talked to staff about being away on June 1. She also helped a guy find a grocery cart. Then Chocolatechip went on about how this one girl owes her $20 I hope she gets her money back. 

Then Chocolatechip went on to say how Tim gave her a 1921 Silver Dollar. She said this one guy, Mike, is interested. He might give her$20. I said I would keep it because it might be worth much more. 

We had a nice chat on Messenger

They are about ready to serve lunch . I didn’t look at the menu so I don’t know what we are having. I’ll eat it regardless because I’m kind of hungry.

12:49p.m. I had a big lunch. They served baked fish, potatoes, mixed veggies, a dinner roll and strawberry ambrosia. Lunch was delicious and I ate it all. I got myself back to my room. I talked with Chocolatechip. She was making egg salad. We only talked for a few minutes. 

Like I said I’ve been reading my book The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconciliation by Akhil Reed Amar. Here  Amar discusses the Second and Third amendments. I am starting to understand some of what the author is saying and I find it very interesting. I hope to finish this and the next chapter this afternoon. Life is good.

3:00p.m. I’m very proud of myself because in did a lot of reading in my book The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. I read two chapters so far today. Since I didn’t read yesterday I’d like to try and read two more I feel pretty with it so I might be able to reach my goal.

Speaking of books I really miss buying books from Amazon . This was something I looked forward to every month.  But I went way overboard on this department. I maxed out two credit cards. I was making credit card payments until the nursing home took control of my check. Still, I shouldn’t have bought so many books.

I have a little over two hundred  unread books on my Kindle. I have enough books for the rest of my life. Still I want more books. It was almost like some kind of addiction. After paying rent to the nursing home I would blow the rest on books I think I would buy at least twenty a month. I still wasn’t satisfied.

Despite this I’m glad I have those books. I will get hours and hours of entertainment. I just might even learn something since most of the books I have deal with U.S. history and political science. And what I learn will never be taken away. In a way these books were a pretty good investment.

I was also talking to Chocolatechip. She would like to see me get that new Stephen King book Holly. It is coming out sometime in September. I said I could pre-order it then the book will automatically download on my Kindle when it becomes available. She said she could get me an Amazon gift card next month. That would make a nice birthday present she said.

She asked me if I get any money at all. I said the nursing home gets all my check. They claim I owe them a back rent of $646. I will not be getting anything until that is paid up we talked about the injustice of it. I was trying to pay my rent every month. Something got screwed up.

Then, back on the subject of a gift card. She said that’s why I want you to have one. I didn’t say this but I thought that would be great. However I hate to see Chocolatechip put herself in a bind. She is on a fixed income herself and every penny goes to an expense. I told her she doesn’t have to get anything for my birthday. I have enough books anyways.

6:20p.m. I had two grilled turkey and Swiss sandwiches, tater tots and a cookie for supper. I didn’t like the potatoes but ate them anyways. I called Chocolatechip and we talked for awhile. We were supposed to finish our talk on Messenger  when we connected she had nothing good to say about the Bitch Clique  We chatted for ten minutes then went to bed.

I’ve been in my wheelchair for over thirteen hours. My butt is starting to hurt from sitting in one spot all that time. I would like to go to bed . But they will no doubt keep me up until later. Aides are taking care of supper trays .I have the call light on but they won’t answer it until later tonight if ever.

9:12-.m. I’m proud of myself for reading three chapters in my book The Bill of Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. I’m pretty much exhausted and can’t go any further. Still. three chapters is enough for one day. I even understood and remember some of what the author was talking about. 

The aides just put me to bed. I’m glad because I’ve been in my chair for sixteen hours. I’m exhausted but cannot fall asleep. Hope I can sleep tonight I don’t want to be up all night.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 30, 2023

So happy to read you are having a better day and that you did go to the coffee social.  I hope you continue to have a good day and enjoy reading your book.

May 30, 2023

@happyathome Thanks. Today is a lot better. I hope you are ok

May 30, 2023

@bear70 I’m good…just been working on Walker’s quilt.  I am almost done with it.  May finish it before I go to bed tonight.  That’s about all here…not much going on.

May 31, 2023

Oh wow, that’s a lot of books.  You are definitely set for a while with reading material.  I love books too but usually get the free books on my Kindle.  Once a month I will let myself actually buy a book…maybe twice if I find something I really want.

I hope you got some sleep last night…I didn’t so will be tired today.