Wednesday 5/31/23

7:42a.m. I had a very good night. Arthritis pain was at a minimum. I slept well. The aides came in to change me so I wasn’t laying in urine

They got me up at five this morning. This one side was a bit roug when changing my briefs. She pushed on my bad leg to roll me over. It hurt like hell. The. I had a hard time getting into my wheelchair. They would not use the hoyer. But I made with without falling on my butt.

I called Chocolatechip.  She was doing housework and getting ready for that Morgantown trip which is tomorrow. So we didn’t have too much time to talk. We did talk about our nights. We both slept well. Then swe cut short our talk. 

I slept in my wheelchair until they served breakfast. Breakfast was kind of skimpy. I had toast and a cheese omlet. I had one coffee and a glass of orange juice.

This has been a fairly typical morning in the nursing home. It started out good and I’m going to have a good day 

9:42a.m. I had a major meltdown over lack of care. First I had a bm and got feces all over me. I was sitting in that for almost an hour before getting help. What made me mad was that I had to ring the call light three or four times. Aides would just walk buy turn off the light and go on their merry way.

Finially I got help. I had to wheel myself to the shower took. Feces was all over me and they had to wash me off. Aides who helped me did a good job in cleaning me off. Then they changed my gown and I got back to my room. I’m  now but I was pissed. It’s no fun sitting in poop.

I hate this place. I cannot understand why it is so hard to get help. I was talking to Chocolatechip about this incident. She said I can’t wait until you get out of that place. I have a four to eight months waiting period. I said I hope I can last until I get to the Geriatric Center. 

Anyways,I‘m all cleaned up and ready for the coffee social. I really want to go today. I like getting an extra cup of coffee plus a donut. Then, after lunch, they are having a Book Club. I definitely want to gareo to this . It is at 2p.m. I can talk a little bit about the Bill of Rights.

12:34a.m. I made it to the social. I am having a good time. I Chapter 6 in my book The Bill of  Rights: Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. This Chapter delt with the 9th and 10th Amendments I also had my shrare of coffee and donuts. I had three cups. They must of put some happy pills in with the coffee because I feel pretty good.

I ate lunch as well. They served country buttermilk chicken, roasted sweet potatoes, mixed vegetables, cornbread and pear crisps for dessert. Lunch was good and I ate it all . However, I thought the chicken was a bit dry. 

I’m going to study Chapter 7 in my book. Here Amar moves forward to the Reconstitution Erea. He talk mainly about the 14th Amendment, one of the Civil War Amendments. Originally., the Bill of Rights applied to the Federal Congress. but after the Civil War the 14th Am endment incorporated the BOR to apply against the states. Rest of the book goes into details about how this is accomplished.

I’m going to read for one more hour in the Fiesta Room. Then they see I’ll have the Book Club meeting at two. I’m looking forward to this activity. I hope I can contributute that will interest other people.

3:15p.m. I’m back in my room. The book club wasn’t what I thought it would be. For one thing very few people showed. Half the people who did show confessed they don’t like to read. I missed 90 % of what was said because I cannot hear. The one girl who held the meeting kept talking about how much she liked to read and the books she read. 

I didn’t get much of a chance to talk. When asked I talked about the last two books I read, the David Baldacci Simply Lies and the ever popular The Bill of Rights : Creation and Reconstruction  by Akhil Reed Amar. I think everyone was paying rapt attention when I talked briefly about this book. 

I don’t think I’ll be going to anymore book clubs. This is not how I thought a book club should be handled. My idea is that everyone should summarize a book they have read or are currently reading. It was more like a bullshit session than an exchange of ideas on books.

I also chatted with Chocolatechip. We talked about her trip to Morgantown. She is going for a thorough four hour psychological evaluation . Het neurologist wants to check for early signs of dementia, among other things. Chocolatechip:s daughter Theresa is picking her up at six. She said she wants to go to bed at three and bet up at midnight to clean.

Chocolatechip also talked about her Memorial Day night. She had nightmares about certain people in the building harrasing her. I said you need to stay away from those people as much as possible.She talked about how this one guy she helps out a lot hardly spoke to her outside. I said remember that the next time he comes around bumming. I then  said they are all a bunch of low life assholes at OT 

I’m sorry I stayed so long at the  party. I was around people for too long today. I can only take so much socializing in a day. Too much and I start getting paranoid. My mind was on Chocolatechip and her trip to Morgantown Towards the end I wanted to get back to my room and call her before she went to bed. I feel like a real jerk.

5:11p.m. I  got to writing on here and lost track of time. I got to thinking about Chocolatechip and her trip to Morgantown . It is going to be a grueling four hour psychological test. I’m thinking they must might find something seriously wrong such as the onset of dementia.  I hope that is not the case but God knows what they might find. I’m  not much for praying but I’ll be praying for Chocolatechip tonight. 

I had a lousy supper. I ate a big plate of macaroni and cheese  with a dinner roll and chocolate ice cream. With a big lunch and supper I’m stuffed to the gills. I also had two more coffees. With the coffee I had at the social and breakfast that makes six cups. I will be wired up tonight from caffeine and worrying  about Chocolatechip.

I hope I can calm myself. I never did get to read Chapter 7 because I got to talking with Chocolatechip. I would like to chill out so I can read at least one more chapter in my book. My goal is to read at least two chapters a day. But it all depends if I can get a grip on things.

8:01p.m. I finished reading Chapter 7 in my book The Bill of Rights:Creation and Reconstruction by Akhil Reed Amar. I’m proud of myself because I reached my reading goal of two chapters. I’m still pumped up from too much caffeine. I think I can read one more chapter.

I’m enjoying this book but it is way over my head.  It seems like I’m zipping right along but I have to study this author. I think the author wrote this book for law students because the topics he discussed seem very deep and complicated. Still I find this to be very interesting and enjoyable. Most would be bored as hell but I’m a frustrated wanna be lawyer. I love reading about the Constitution.

I also said my prayer for Chocolatechip. This helped calm be down. I hope God listened and will watch over for her tomorrow But strangely, praying helped calm my nerves. I’d like to think God is watching over an old sinner like me as well. 

It is after eight. I’ve been in my wheelchair for fifteen hours. I’m not tired yet because I’m still high from all the coffee. I’m ready to take on another chapter in my book.

9:00p.m. I’m back. I think I did enough reading for the day. I’m very tired . I already had my evening snack of a pbj. I’ve been fed. It’s time for bed. But I lack the sense to ring the call light. Besides I want to stay up and call Chocolatechip when she wakes at midnight. I want to talk to her before she goes on her trip. Theresa is picking her up at six. There won’t be time in the morning. So it has to be before I go to bed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 31, 2023

Why do they not want to use the hoyer?  I hope you do have a good day.  I think I’ll go make myself a cheese omelet and some toast for breakfast…sounds good.

May 31, 2023

@happyathome one reason the hoyer pad cuts into my skin wen I’m sitting in my wheelchair. Im more comfortable without it

June 1, 2023

Of course God loves you…he loves us all even if we are sinners.  I pray Chocolatechip has a good appointment and they don’t find anything seriously wrong.  I know you will worry…it’s hard not to but give it to God and find peace in that.