A day alone.*

Solitude.  Not something that I normally get as a working mother of two in a long term, steady relationship.  But today, it’s what i’ve got.  Charles picked up a shift at work today.  He is working from 9 am until 11 pm.  So yeah, he’s out today.  I’ve also allowed Dave to start taking the girls overnight every other weekend.   Well i SAY every other weekend, but in all honesty, if I really want them for something I keep them… and if i have plans.. lol.. i allow them to see if their dad wants them for the night.  =D

This weekend has worked out kind of strangely in that I really didnt’ make any plans with anyone.  In reality, our money is still extremely tight here… read: we are broke… as we try to catch up the bills and recover from my being left without any income other than my $68/week in child support for 9 weeks over the summer.  Believe me, I am thankful for payment programs that most companies will offer when you are hit with such dire circumstances.  They have allowed me to catch almost everything up withing 2 months of going back to work.  However, I am NOT happy with the hit, my already less-than-stellar credit has taken through this.  But.. this has proven to be a lesson in frugality. 

As a rule.. I am a spender.  In fact, my tax return that will not arrive until sometime in March or April of 2012 is already earmarked for many different things as I dream of having more than a few dollars in the bank.. LOL!  But mostly i’m dreaming of paying off debt.  So I can live if ever there is a break in income again. 

Being nearly penniless.. as I was for nearly all of the summer  definitely taught me what is important in life.  My family and my friends… and that I can go and have fun and a good life without needing to spend a lot of money.  Honestly though, i am lucky that what happened, happened during the summer.. when there is a free public pool around the corner from me and plenty of parks and beaches to go to.  In fact, we were out of the house so much it was hard to miss the cable and internet service that had to be cancelled due to our lack of funds. 

Anyway.. back to today..

I’m kind of enjoying the peace and quiet.  I"m still in my pj’s at 2:30 however, and haven’t really accomplished much more than reading some of my book, catching up on my DVR’d television shows.. and successfully making it through the Tim Horton’s drive through with just minutes to spare to get myself a coffee and a breakfast sandwich as an "i’m alllllll alone today" treat. 

Now i think i’m going to finish reading my book (the latest Sookie Stackhouse novel), take a shower, pick up a bit.. and go see "The Help" at the movies all by myself.  I can do it.  I’m a big girl!  lol! 🙂

Have a good Saturday everyone!!
_______________________________________

yay!!  I have a movie date. =)  I"m going to see the Help with my Grandma tonight!  Happy to be spending time with her.. and to not be going alone.. lol!

Log in to write a note
October 1, 2011

Looooove the Sookie Stackhouse books and looooooved The Help. Have you read it?

October 2, 2011

enjoy that alone time!