Betting pool now open…

I sit here wondering why the nurse manager I have working for me at the new hospital is a 40-something RN with a PhD, and also has a BMI easily approaching 40.  I’m conservatively guessing he’s 5’10 and about 350-375 lbs.  Truly pear-shaped.

In his office, there are 8 boxes of Girl Scout cookies on the desk, and every time I walk past I see his hand in a bag of some snack food.  One of the other physicians and I estimated that he’s taken in over 6,000 calories in the last 6 hours.  And that’s just from what we witnessed him ingesting!  How does someone with that level of education, working in healthcare, continue down that path?

So we have a small wager on him having a coronary in the next 6 months.  Not if, but when.

Log in to write a note
March 29, 2018

I see something similar where I get my healthcare. I can’t watch them eat obviously and don’t want to, but it strikes me as strange that they face posters on being healthy all day long and then do that to themselves. There is a lot of body-positive, so to speak, about weight these days. But it’s like smoking. You can do it when you’re young. Later on, there’s consequences.

March 29, 2018

Compulsive eating is an addiction like any other. It’s a coping mechanism, a shield. It defies rational thought. I feel for the guy.

March 29, 2018

Most people I know that work in healthcare (myself included) are some of the unhealthiest people I know.

March 30, 2018

that’s pretty dark, my friend.

March 30, 2018

Just like watching Dr.’s smoke

April 3, 2018

I’m still in AL. Don’t plan on going anywhere. My mom told me how when she was working the ER detail at Bellevue Hospital back in the late 1930’s they would bet on the patients arriving by ambulance if they would be alive or not…. gallows humour…

April 5, 2018

Just like the cobbler’s children go without shoes