I’ll tell you why retail is dead…

An attempt to make the simple purchase of a raincoat turned into quite the production.  I depart for Italy tomorrow, and the forecast has some rain possible in Sicily in the evenings.  My current raincoat is a bit too heavy for the temperature, but I do like to stay dry should I be caught in the downpour.

Macy’s, Saks Fifth Avenue, Lord & Taylor and Bergdorf Goodman were all paid a visit, and not a one had a classic men’s raincoat!  I was told, “It really isn’t the season”, to which I replied, “I didn’t realize rain had a season.”  Anywhere I have lived and traveled, rain was pretty much a possibility 365 days a year.  Sometimes the probability is low, but the chance was always there.

I finally had to go all the way downtown to Century 21, where lo-and-behold, rack upon rack of men’s raincoats.  I even found a rather dashing classic Ralph Lauren for $99.

I shall try to update along the way.

Log in to write a note
April 12, 2018

I think the problem was you went to classic stores, fashion places. They all run now on fashion cycles – driven by “seasons” and runway shows and “collections.” So yes, there’s a small window to buy a raincoat. Or a swimsuit. Or a coat. Most of it goes on sale because buyers can’t keep up with all those cycles. And then gets sent to Century 21.

April 13, 2018

@lakeland These used to be “classic” department stores.  You could go there for everything you needed, and it was one-stop shopping.  Yu could buy a winter coat in August (in case you were headed to the southern hemisphere), or swimwear in December.  How things have changed, and not for the better.

April 13, 2018

I read your entry and wondered why you would look for a raincoat at a realty company. I had no idea that there’s a department store with the same name. Learned something new today. Have a good flight.

April 13, 2018

Have a great trip.

April 15, 2018

I, too, thought that you were referring to a real estate company.  Then I looked them up on line.  And I looked at trench coats, for I am needing one.  Did not buy yet, but I know where to look now.  Have a great trip!

April 22, 2018

this is why I buy about 95% of everything I get online, better selection, better prices, and no seasonal outages

April 24, 2018

It is so hard to find anything in an actual store anymore. Its quite sad really. As much as I hate to shop, I would rather go and try on items instead of hoping they will fit and risking having to send them back.

Have a wonderful trip!