Six geese a-laying…

Any epicure will tell you that there are few culinary joys simpler than a well-prepared fresh egg.  What you find in the supermarket parted ways with the chicken anywhere from weeks to months earlier, and in no conceivable way can be called “fresh”.  (If you are curious to determine the vintage of your eggs, this is a great article.)

The sudden temperature surge into the 70’s meant that all our birds started laying.  18 eggs yesterday, 23 today, etc.  We have chickens, guineafowl, ducks and geese, so I get a variety to choose from.  While not the most prolific of layers (those would be the Indian Runner Ducks), the geese produce a large and delicious egg that is such a treat.  This morning we breakfasted on some with shaved black truffle.  One goose egg is easily equal to 2-3 chicken eggs, so they make a hearty meal, and fill a plate for an impressive presentation.  They were so delicious, I couldn’t resist opening a half-bottle of Champagne to accompany them.

As I almost never eat a hearty breakfast – it’s usually just cappuccino and a biscuit for me – but when such a perfect ingredient is sitting in front of you, it’s wrong to waste it.

Bakers, such as Lady Wife, swear by duck and goose eggs for the pastry arts.  Cakes, custards and pasta are enhanced by their richer yolks.  I still recall a creme brûlée made with goose eggs as one of the best I have ever sampled.  As ducks and geese are water birds, the whites are thinner, so you have to adjust recipes accordingly.  They don’t whip as well as a chicken egg white, so things like meringue and mousse are best avoided.

Unsurprisingly, after that amazing start to the day, I skipped lunch.  Just some espresso was quite satisfying, and fought off the torpor of that breakfast.

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2018

Whew, that black truffle! Looks amazing!

February 21, 2018

I’ve had duck eggs, but the closest I ever get to goose is foie gras

February 21, 2018

Oh, that looks delicious!

February 21, 2018

What are the flakey things? Black truffle?

February 21, 2018

@georgette Yes, shaved black truffle.

February 21, 2018

saw you on the front page, that looks amazing!

February 21, 2018

Is the color of the yoke indicative of what the bird ate, or the age, or both?

February 21, 2018

@altair Diet is a major factor. In the autumn, if we feed chopped acorns to the ducks, we get a nut-brown yolk with a decidedly nutty flavor. The pale yolks usually indicate a less-than-optimal diet.

February 21, 2018

For some reason eggs make my stomach turn but I do like them. I didn’t know that about store bought eggs. Maybe that’s why my stomach turns. Lol.

February 28, 2018

Thats so interesting to know. I never knew that the consistency was different.

I’m trying to talk hubby into getting chickens. LOL!