Some places still get customer service…

My luggage takes a beating, as I usually fly twice a week.  Years ago I started buying Tumi bags, as they have superior craftsmanship, and will usually take about 2-3 years of abuse.  Most other brands, like Samsonite, etc. might give you half that.  (Yet they are now owned by Samsonite!)  The old commercial that had the gorilla throwing luggage around the airport wasn’t too far off, I think.  While Tumi bags are expensive, the repair program and customer service is amazing.

When I send a bag back, if it has minor issues, they do a refurbishment job that restores it to near-new condition.  But if it needs more than superficial repair, they always call me and offer an original full retail credit towards a new bag.  All I have to pay is the tax and shipping, so I usually end up having to spend an extra $65-80.  But this is on a bag that retails for a bit over $1,000!  I definitely cannot complain, especially when you amortize the cost of the luggage against the time and amount of use I get from it.

I’m impressed because it’s so rare to find a company that stands behind their products.  It’s like my umbrella from James Smith & Sons.  I’ve had it over 15 years, and while it was pricey (>$275), they refurbish it as often as needed.

Log in to write a note
July 2, 2018

Nice! I’ll remember that should I ever get to a point in life that I travel a lot.

July 2, 2018

@queenofegypt Yes, it’s definitely not worth it for the occasional traveler.  (Although you’d probably get a bag that lasts a lifetime.)  But back when I only had to travel 4-6 times a year, a less expensive bag did the job.  Now they would fall apart in 3 months.

July 2, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm Oh, for sure. My so-so luggage I got as a college graduation gift gets the job done at this stage of life. 😄

kat
July 2, 2018

my niece is in sales and she travels like that too. bless her heart she hates it! my son is an engineer and he travel every other week but when he travels it is to Brazil, Canada, Japan, England, Germany or Mexico… so it is usually 4 or 5 day trips

July 2, 2018

@kaliko That’s why I like their “Extended Trip Wheeled Garment Bag”.  Holds a week’s worth of suits.

kat
July 2, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm now that is what I need! but most men seem to alter shirts to give suits a different look so they might only need two or three suits but change the shirt color and ties. That is what my friend who is a lawyer does

July 2, 2018

I used to travel a lot – for 25 years I was away 3/4 weeks of every month most of the year. I had some Tumi bags as well as some leather ones.  The last Tumi set I bought were the “graffiti” decorated ones – they were very expensive but looked stylish and were better quality than the competition.

July 2, 2018

Briggs and Riley is supposed to have a lifetime guarantee, too – though I haven’t put them to the test yet.  However, one time one of my Cutco knives had handle damage when it fell out of its place in the dishwasher, and onto the heating element.  I sent it back to them, and they gave me an entirely new knife!  And the knife was over 10 years old when I sent it in!