TOTW20: Three foods you would take to a desert island…

This is a tough one.  How warm does it get on this hypothetical island?  I’m a seasonal diner, so if the temperatures are really high I tend towards lighter fare.  But perhaps I’m over-thinking this?

#1.  Cassoulet!  Beans, sausage, pork, duck confit, onions, garlic, tomato, etc.  All wonderful things, with so many flavors.

#2.  Wonderful bread.  Crusty baguettes, fougasse, Pane Toscano.

#3.  Cheeses.  Brillat-Savarin, Grana Padano, Gorgonzola, Parmigiano-Reggiano, Morbier and Epoisse.  A nice cheese board to round out the day.

I’m hoping there is good wine on this desert island?

Log in to write a note
kat
May 15, 2018

mine would be far simpler. peanut butter, lobster, and bbq chicken. I am in hope there are veggies or something green there to eat. I am a fitness freak so if not I would have to add salad

May 15, 2018

I prefer the more simple foods for when it’s hot out. Better yet never mind making a mess in the kitchen either order in or get taken out…..But I prefer chicken and salad and french fries……

May 15, 2018

nice

May 19, 2018

Cucumbers and eggs. I will not eat them together. I could eat either one for the rest of my life.

If I had to get fancy I could wander the streets nibbling on Gouda and Kalamata olives as I have done that.

How about a stroopwaffle? Would a person ever get tired of a stroopwaffle? I’m not sure.

Maybe I’d just drink Arnold Palmers (I swear I thought of it first!) laced with triple sec and not worry about eating.