~1st entry’s Explanation -10

Baseball; -He didn’t really play much Baseball but we did go to the Park/School and play catch and hit Balls.

Soccer; -Nathan loved to play Scoccer at School. We had a Soccer Ball that we would take to the Park/School and kick around.

Taking out the Trash; -It was mostly Nathan’s Job to take the Trash out. But one time it was his Sister’s turn. It was windy and cold and a little rainy this one night so as his Sister slipped out the Sliding Glass door to take the trash out, Nathan quietly shut the Sliding Glass Door. Well Sarah turned around to run back in and met face to face with the Sliding Glass Door. We heard this ~Bang~. Oh was she NOT a happy Camper! And Nathan, well he Laughed like Crazy!!!

Always Wanting to Help; -Nathan was a People Pleaser. You’d ask him to do something and he (most of the time) cheerfully did it. A lot of times he’d volunteer to help.

Indian Projects; -In the 4th Grade History was on the United States. In one of the sections they Studied Indians. There were several times I helped him an Indian Project. The last one he did was on a Huge piece of Cardboard, We made a little Village. He then wanted to keep it.. I did up until we moved. (I already have so much of his stuff, I just can’t save everything. And what I do have needs to be able to fix in Boxes or Plastic Tubs).

Getting Your Sister to Laugh; -This is the one thing that we all remember well, just how he was always getting us to laugh. His Sister and I were just talking about this the other day. She spoke on how he was always making her laugh

Your Thoughtfulness; -This is another thing I Think of when I think of Nathan, is His Thoughtfulness. He was almost always thinking of others. Always willing to Share

Cookie Dough Ice cream; -We ate Ice Cream every night for years. He like this kind the Best.

Sliding Down the Stairs on Your stomach-Head First; -Nathan and his Sister did this on the Upstairs Stairs that had Carpet on them.

Rock Climbing; -At Farrish they had these Huge Rocks! For a long stretch. Nathan loved to climb around them. Age 9-12

Playmobile Stuff; -You can find this Playmobile stuff in Educational Stores. It’s plastic towns with Buildings, and People, and Ships, and Castles etc. His Friend Gabe had this stuff, and I think Taylor too. It was Costly. Like for the Ship and all that went with it, it was like $50.00. I gave the Ship to Gabe after Nathan Died… he had been wanting to buy one and I figured Nathan didn’t need it now. Plus this would be a Piece of Nathan’s stuff as a Memory thing. Age 10-12

Chasing the Kids down the Street; -Typically Nathan was a nice kid to others, but now and then he’d get a mean streak in him. I caught the tail end of Nathan running some kid off and down the street. I asked him *What did he think he was doing???? He said the Kid was a Nerd. Age 11

Playing Cops & Robbers; -Oh those boys on the street were always playing Cops and Robbers together.

Pinewood Derby-2nd Place Show; -Our Church had a Pinewood Derby every February. One time, Nathan Placed 2nd in Show at our Church. He got a Trophy and went onto compete in the District Pinewood Derby. He didn’t place in the Top 3 to go to the District Competition. But still getting that Trophy was pretty cool.

Shooting Rubber Bands; -I know… this wasn’t the smartest thing but our family would have Rubberband fights now and then in the Basement. Brian and Nathan against me and Sarah.

Poptarts; Nathan Liked these.

Secretly Listening to Forbidden Music at Night Under the Covers; -We only permitted the kids to listen to Christian Music. Nathan had this little Radio that in 1996 he would take to bed with himself and put the covers over his head. I could hear the Music coming out of it. He thought he was being Sneaky listening to Secular Music. He never knew that I knew what he was doing. I just let it go. Age 11

Writing Sentences; -Many times for a punishment I would have them write sentences.”I will be nice to my Sister” or “I will not dig in the backyard” etc. Like 500 to 1000 times. And then we would pray afterwards. One time him and his sister just were nit picky at each other all morning. I finally had enough! I made them write a 100 page writing about ways they could treat each other nicer. My daughter was done in like 10 minutes but it took him 30 minutes to write his. It worked though. They were nice to each other for the rest of the day. (And typically they got along great… just sometimes not).

Putting Madison to Sleep; -Whenever I read these 4 words, I am reminded about the Patience that Nathan had. The Caring Tender Spirit he had. I Was Babysitting at Gabe’s house of his two little sister, while his Mom went to the Mall. The youngest was about 8 Months and she started Crying, and Cry, and wouldn’t Stop. Nathan came into the room and Sarcastically with a smile.. asked me if was having Fun yet? I just Looked at him and said, “Here you take her!” He did. He walked back into the Room I was in about 15 minutes later with her sound asleep on his shoulder. He then took her to her room, laid her in her crib, covered her with the Blanket. And Patted her back for about 5 minutes all while I stood there with my month hanging open! MyGosh… he was Magical with her. I couldn’t get over what I just witnessed. When the Mom got home I told her what Nathan did, and she was like…. “He has done this several times before”. It just so warmed my Heart to see my Boy so Patient, So Tender. (He would of made a good Daddy) Age-Almost 12

~to be Continued~

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2002

Such sweet memories! 🙂 ((HUGS))

February 19, 2002

the stories behind each of the statements are beautiful.

you were given an angel and he gave you such treasured memories. {{{{hugs}}}}

February 19, 2002

it is so nice that you have all these wonderful memories!!!………:)

I had to laugh @ the writing sentences. This is what we did to punish my oldest son when he was alot younger. It seemed to be the only thing that worked, He jokes about it now.-LOL

February 23, 2002

I knows some Mommys that would have paid him quite well for his “magical” abilities with calming fussy babies. ~~pearl

February 23, 2002

When my son Paul was six, his best friend died of cancer. Robert’s mom gave Paul a baseball card that was Robert’s favorite. We took it and had it framed along with a picture of the two of them together. Paul will be twenty-one in May and it still hangs above the bed in his apartment. He truly treasures it and to date never fails to go to the cemetary to leave flowers and see his friend.