~1st entry’s Explanation -9

Pushing the Cart & Carrying the Heaviest bags to the Car; -Nathan loved to go to the store with me. He was very good about not asking me for things to buy, yet I usually did get him something. Whenever we went to the store he always insisted on Pushing the Cart or carrying the Basket. What a Gentleman he was. Then when it was time to carry the Sacks out he always insisted on taking the heaviest one. Age 10-12

Nintendo; -For years we said no Nintendo because we had a Computer.. It didn’t make sense to have both. After Nathan had the Bike Accident he was told he couldn’t do anything that might cause him to smack his head for 6 months. His Birthday was coming up soon, and we decided to get him a Nintendo to keep him less active. He so enjoyed playing those Games. Age 12

Doing the P.P Dance; -He was always waiting till the last minute to get to the Rest Room, then you’d hear those feet jumping around in there as he was unzippering his pants. One of our Relatives called it *The PP Dance* When you heard that noise you knew what was happening. LOL Age 3-? He probably still did it at times

Stickers on the Wall & Dresser; -He loved Stickers and I allowed him to place them wherever he wanted. On his Dresser, on his Walls. They were every where’s. Age 5-12

Q-Zar; -We had a Laser Gun Tag place in Colorado Springs. We all went there several times. What a lot of fun that was. Age 10/11

Charlotte Hornets-Your Favorite Team; -Nathan loved Charlotte Hornets even though they weren’t a Winning good team. He had Charlotte Hornets Pillow, Trash Can, Shirt, Shorts, Pencils, A stuffed Bear. Age 9-12

Kool-aid; -Nathan liked Koolaid and all the flavors.

Hunting For You After Services on Wednesday Nights; -On Wednesday Nights after Royal Rangers and after I cleaned my Classroom and talked with whoever I needed to yak with, I’d be ready to go but no Nathan. I think he purposely hid from me at times. Up in a Tree, or behind the Building. Sometimes it didn’t bother me much but other times it just Ticked me off, cause I’d Look and Look and start to get worried, and then finally find him. Age 10-12

Ninja Turtles; -Ninja Turtles were real Popular when Nathan was 5. I recall him doing this Ninja stuff with this kid named Ryan (same one he smacked). Nathan had all The Movies, all the Action Figurines, He had the Sheets, He had Posters. He probably had a Back Pack and Notebooks, He also had StoryBooks too.. These were the Cool Guys!

Comic Cards; -He had theses Comic Cards. Which some are worth some money. He got these in a Trade with someone. The kid who had them, well his parents would of had a fit at they knew he had them, so some how Nathan got them. Age 11/12

Rolo’s; -He liked this candy. Age 10-12

Farrish; -This was located behind the Air Force Academy just 3 miles from us, but to get to it we had to go up Hwy 24 in to Woodland Park and cut over. It was like a 45 minute Drive. This was camp/fishing grounds owned by the Air Force Academy. We as a Family Camped there several times and Brain and Nathan went Fishing there all the time. Age 9-12

Always Trying to Scare Mom; -Nathan loved to be hiding around the Corner & then Pop-out. Or he got a thrill out of seeing me sqirm when he’d place a live beetle on me. Or I’d be in the Basement watching TV when this little black thing would come flying over my shoulder landing on me and he’d laugh and laugh when I’d jump up trying to get it off of me, thinking it was a Bug. Or when he was way younger we’d be in clothing store and he’d slip quicky in the mist the clothes rack. Just scare the snot out of me wondering where he went. He’d come out smiling. Age 3-12

Using Weighs to Build Your Muscles; -His father had a Weight Set and he’d go down to the Basement and lift some of those Weights. He said he was Building his Muscles. Age 11

Playing Catch in the Street; -He’d play catch in the street with the Football. The Summer of 1996 we did a lot of playing Catch with him and several of his friends after dark under the Street Lights.

Making a Snowman; -He loved to make a Snowman. I got a Picture of him after he made a snowman on our Deck one May 8th, just a week before we were to go to California for a Visit in 1991.

Sardines in Mustard; -He loved Mustard and Sardines. Him and his Dad would eat them. I still have one of the last ones I bought him, unopened in his Dresser. Age 6-12

One of Your Favorite Times of the Year-July 4th; -Nathan loved the 4th of July. The last few years he was alive, we spent it with the Border Family. And some of the other people on the Street. The Summer of 1996 you could buy Fireworks but couldn’t set them off. So I bought some to set off another time. He never got that chance. A year later his Sister, Sarah and his Girlfriend Alicia set them off.

Black Bunkbed, Black Toothbrush, Black Pants, Shirt, Shoes; -He just like Black. So did/does my daughter. I am told I liked Black as a Child too. The Teachers thought there must be something wrong with me. Both my Kids had Black Metal Bunkbed. Years back when at the Dentist they asked Nathan what color, He told them he wanted a Black one. At the time Black Toothbrushes weren’t made. But about a year before Nathan died, Black Reach Toothbrushes came into the stores and I bought him one. I have his Last Toothbrush still in a Plastic Box in his Dresser Drawer. He preferred Black Jeans to the Blue jeans, and Black Tennis Shoes to White Tennis Shoes and Black Shirts with a Design on over White shirts with a design on them.

Log in to write a note

the pp dance is absolutely priceless i can hear and imagine it 🙂 we were invaded by the Ninja turtles too once upon a time one day an elderly neighbor heard my son and his friend talking about Rapheal,Michaelangelo, Donatello etc and came to me and said he couldn’t believe how versed the boys were in culture and art for their age. i could hardly contain myself but didn’t tell him the truth 🙂

February 17, 2002

jason loved the ninja turtles, too. michaelangelo was his favorite. i got him a michaelangelo figure for christmas a couple years before he died. he loved it.

The pp dance !!! We have that in our house too! We also had invasion of the Turtles,stickers etc. I guess its just “boys” ~~~~hugs~~~~

My middle daughter also does the “PP dance” (and here I thought I made up that name!) She’ll put off going to the bathroom until the last possible second. She still has accidents every so often.

February 17, 2002

Hi…I love your new name. And…..I always love hearing about your boy. 🙂

i love the way you’ve let us get to know nathan. i can identify so much having had all boys myself. 🙂 i wanted to thank you for the thoughtful notes that you’ve left for me. it’s so kind of you, considering all that you’ve been through, to reach out to me. your diary inspires me to go on when life feels too difficult. *hug*

February 18, 2002

Hhah..the PP dance! I STILL do the PP dance on occasion! And Rolo’s..Norm’s boys lived for them too. I really like these memories. I hope its making you feel good.

February 23, 2002

J likes black too. ~~pearl

February 23, 2002

We used to play Ninja Turtles on Nintendo. Paul and Tammi would kick my butt. It was a hoot!