So long, farewell

Emotionally I let go of this place a long time ago. Yet was still interested in staying up on people’s lives that I have met. Once I meet someone I never want to lose contact, that is how I am;I would always wonder how you are doing.

Open Diary for me started out writing about my son.. his life, his death and how I felt. Then I went on to thoughts and eventually I did something I never wanted to do on here and that was write about my every day things.. but it worked.. everyone was doing it.

I have been here for 3 State moves and 4 States and all that goes with that. It seems like a life time!

I have deleted most all of my diary and it felt ok like house cleaning. FINALLY… I do have it downloaded and I have spent HOURS copying and pasteing various entries I wanted printed out as just is.

I am thinking of making up a binder of highlights in my life. Some of those things are on the OD and some I have to rethink and write out.

Starting over.. I have done that enough times in my 55 years. 7 times just in the last 34 years! It isn’t easy and yet it can be exciting at the same time. A Fresh Start.

I was laying in bed this morning thinking about that it feels forgein at Prosebox. There isn’t that same touchy feely feel. Maybe in time it will get better or even when EWS starts his up. I will be there too. Attempting to nestle into a new home… at least many of my/our friends will be there.

I think I view the death of the OD much like I do the death of a good friend or family member.. The OD (my Readers) was/are a Blessing to me. My life was/is Enriched. And that makes me Smile!

And SO……

So long, farewell, au wiedersehen, adieu
Adieu, adieu, to yieu and yieu and yieu
Good…..bye OD

And yet I will see you (my Reader’s) on the Otherside 🙂

Log in to write a note
January 30, 2014

I think we all feel the same, except, for me I never emotionally left OD… it just feels so much like home and my cyber family all lived here….

January 30, 2014

ryn: I feel the same way about some of my paper journals (from before OD) When I read them now, I say to myself, who WROTE that??? but for now I shall keep those too, someday I plan to destroy all my journals. don’t care for family to ever find them…..

January 30, 2014

Best wishes to you, friend!!

I think Prosebox is already feeling more at home, now that more of my friends from OD are moving there. At first it didn’t feel like home, there weren’t enough people there. The last few months haven’t felt the same at OD, anyway. Everyone was too scattered. Now that everyone is coming together on PB, I think it is starting to feel like a close community.

January 30, 2014
January 30, 2014

I think by the time we reach 55 years of age, we’ve accumulated a bit of wisdom and I read of wisdom when I read your words. Thank you for being my friend here on Open Diary. I’ve always felt a kinship with you because we are the same age and some of our childhood memories are the same. I’m glad you are going to continue on at Prosebox. It’s not Open Diary but at least we will all remain together. In a way, Prosebox feels like Open Diary did at the very beginning.

January 30, 2014

I have come back to delete everything except the last entry. It feels odd yes. But I also like new beginnings. OD had such a great ambiance – not present at PB. I hope we can create it ourselves. And hopefully someone will let me know if EWS is up and running.

January 31, 2014

🙂

RYN: I used Photobucket, also, till I discovered there is a way to directly upload my photos to OD. Go to the top bar across your diary & click on Diary. In the drop down box, you will see the choice of “my pictures” under “write an entry” & above “diary maintenance.” I am glad I was able to delete them. It makes me sad, though, to delete them and my entries. 🙁

RYN 2nd & 3rd ones: This is fun, almost like talking. The my pictures option has been there for quite some time, at least 2 years, I believe. That is how long I went without paying for OD+. I missed all the features that a Plus subscription gave me. But, all the talk of diarists not getting their payments credited to their diaries caused me to be cautious. That, and the lack of customer service when a problem did crop up.

PS I want you to know that I learned so much about handling grief from reading your diaries. I will always remember your thoughts about Nathan & how you talked about perfect timing. Even though I often hate to see myself in pictures, I make a point to be in more photos with my children & grandchildren because of your urging. You are one of the very first diarists I discovered when I started on ODin February 2004. Thank you.

PS again: Do you know anything about J8XMOM? She hasn’t updated in a long time. I sent her an email the other day alerting her to the fact that OD is shutting down, but I haven’t heard from her.

RYN: Thanks for your note thanking me for the note I left you! 🙂