getting a house on Wednesday

The cranes are arriving to drop our new guest house on top of the garage/foundation on Wednesday. They say that the house will be watertight in one day. I think the house arrives in flat pieces that will be craned into place and then bolted together. The weeks after that will be all about cabinetry and finishing details. We’ll have about a month of the house being up and functional but not habitable because the city takes 30 days to issue a certificate of occupancy. I’m sort of looking forward to that time because we can spend a while inside the space, getting a sense of where things should go and what we’ll need to buy — not much frankly. Mostly it has all built in cabinets. We need a couch, a bed, a desk chair a small kitchen table and coffee table. The rest is there.


What you’re looking at here is the roof of the garage/carport. The house will sit on top of this, so it will be 8 feet above street level. The roof of the new guest house will be level with our patio — conceivably we could extend a deck over the roof of the guest house to reclaim this as yard space but I’m not sure I want to do that until after we stop renting the guest house. I might put a rooftop vegetable garden on top of the guest house but I’m not sure. Maybe just more solar panels? Eventually we’ll be moving into the guest house. Our plan is to move in prior to the 2028 Olympics and then rent our house out to some Chinese oligarchs who are in town for the month to watch the games. During the 1984 games folks in LA were able to rent their homes for $10,000 for the month. I figure we can get at lest $30,000. After that we might move to renting or VRBOing our house for a monthly income while downsizing to the guest house permanently. I have a pension from the Writers Guild but D has been freelance his whole career so you know, we’re gonna be pinching our Ameros or whatever currency we’re using in the 30’s and 40’s. One thing’s for sure, my social security will be gone, gone, gone — gobbled up by president Rubio’s austerity programs of 2025.


Then in 2053 I’ll be shot to death by water raiders outside of a community controlled water distribution point in Silverlake. It’s okay, I’ll have already have contracted Covid52 and would have only lived 2 months longer as it was.

Log in to write a note
February 13, 2021

That’s alot of money for renting a house. And it sounds like a good plan! If you can get that much, I’d do it too!

February 13, 2021

When we had our expo and our Olympics people went into something called air B and B and they do very well.

This is what I know about it….

https://www.google.com/search?q=air+B.B.&rlz=1C1CHBF_enCA922CA922&oq=air+B.B.&aqs=chrome..69i57j0i13i433j0i13l6.6549j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

February 13, 2021

I will be sitting, huddled in warm furs in the PNW right next to my own personal waterfall.  Ferns cost extra.

Congratulations on the new house/guesthouse!!

February 14, 2021

@novembercirese I want a personal waterfall!