I have the perfect dry and depressing 9 hour BBC documentary for you to watch!

I remember years ago I was telling my writing partner about buying tickets to go see a performance of something called “Decasia” at the Disney Concert Hall downtown for me and the hubby to go see for Valentines Day. We love an experience more than an object. Anyhow, point of story, Writing Partner asked me what Decasia was and I explained, “Oh it’s this symphony performance where all the instruments are taken out of tune and then they simultaneously screen footage of decaying film from the late 19th and early 20th century. After a long pause my writing partner started laughing. He impersonated me calling Disney Hall, “hello, are there any tickets still available for Decasia? Oh…All of the tickets are available?” Indeed it was as screechy and atonal as you might imagine. Difficult music with weird visuals. My sweet spot!


This past week I finished watching all 9 hours of the new Adam Curtis documentary series “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head.” What is it about? What isn’t it about is a more appropriate question. I guess the best answer is it’s about how society has tried and failed numerous times to find a system of governance that works. As it turns out, everything we’ve tried has been a total failure. Curtis argues that rather than give into nihilism that we could decide to figure out something that actually will work. He doesn’t provide a model, but rather refers to it as “another way.”


Still though, if you’re looking for 9 hours of dry and depressing political thought, which is totally my jam, this is the movie for you!

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2021

hahaha, OMG, you are too funny.  NO, I don’t want to watch something dry and depressing.  If I wanted that, I would view a movie of my life recently.

Decasia sounds like something I played awhile ago with the symphony.  I have never cared for atonal music, but have played what was put in front of me.  I understand it, just don’t like it.  I’m glad, however, YOU do.  Someone should!!

February 21, 2021

@novembercirese come on! 12 tone scale! I like to put on some Schoenberg for parties, Christmas dinners, children’s birthdays.

February 21, 2021

@bitterpill …bat mizvah’s, coming-out parties and sweet 16.  🙂

February 21, 2021