soak in the rain

Last night I got to go in the jacuzzi for about an hour after my last meeting before it started raining. It was kind of amazing to sit there, looking at the full moon in hot water on a cold night. We have a retractable canvas roof over the deck but it only does so much — it’s more of a sun screen than a rain proof roof. After a while it was pouring buckets and I had to get out of my soak and head inside. I think I bought this house because of the jacuzzi. Yes, it’s in the neighborhood I wanted and was the price I could pay but it wasn’t like my dream house. The design is what I would call 1950’s stucco box melange. We’re lucky to be hillside but it’s not got much else going for it. The house had negligent owners for 40 years before we bought it. The latest of whom really went nuts with the Sherman Williams. Do you like Easter? Because we have a panoply of pastels in every room. Who says ceilings can’t be lavender? I do. I say they can’t.


We’re in the midst of building a guest house in our back yard. This is a rendering of what it will look like. I would say we’re about a year over schedule? We scored a couple of lucky breaks though. We’re using a company that builds prefabs and so the price we paid is the price. We’ve actually paid for the building already and there won’t be a bill at the end of this. The second thing is the company wants to rent our guest house as a demo unit for a year and they’re already paying rent even though the building isn’t finished. Here’s an article about the company.The city, despite having a really messed up government, did make it super easy to build back yard Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs) or guest houses to help with our housing crisis.


There’s a lot, post pandemic that I hope we keep around. Like this year being the flu season that wasn’t as a result of so many people wearing masks. The flu internationally, particularly where mask wearing was common, saw a massive drop in flu cases. We’ve done better in the US with the flu as well. I’ve spent some money on some masks. Dean got a silk Fendi mask as a gift — which isn’t much for face covering but is good as a cover over a less attractive n95. I’ve got two masks coming from Stance along with the masks I made earlier on in this whole thing. I, honestly, can see myself wearing these in public for the rest of my life during flu season. Buckle up, easily frightened trumpsters — you may be seeing masks for years to come. Just like they do in communist china! oooogha booogha boogha!👻👹🙈

Log in to write a note
January 29, 2021

Have you ever heard of a lane home?  We have them being built from carports or garages

http://www.lanefab.com/laneway-house-built-projects

 

January 30, 2021

@jaythesmartone these are fantastic!

kat
January 29, 2021

I love sitting in them in snow and light rain! It is relaxing

January 30, 2021

You have an outdoor jacuzzi? 🙂 Lucky you. 🙂

January 30, 2021

@sleepydormouse I am very lucky. Sometimes I can’t quite grasp it.

January 31, 2021

I’ve actually been thinking that I will continue to wear a mask in public even after all this is over.  I’ve not had a cold, a cough, or even a sniffle since this all began.  Airplanes, restaurants, concerts – yeah – I’ll do it!