New here….

So I’m 51 years old, have two grown daughters and two grandchildren, a girl and a boy. My oldest daughter, we’ll call her B, is 30 with two kids and a long-time girlfriend. My other daughter is 19 and in college for music education. We’ll call her A. She has a long-time gf also if you can call her that. “She” is actually a male, but I believe is taking hormones, because he has boobs. Yeah…we’ll just move on. LOL, I have no problem with it, I just don’t fully understand the whole thing. But as long as she’s happy and safe, I’m happy.

My health has been declining quite a lot over the last few years, mainly since 2017. I became septic from a huge abscess that ran all the way down my right calf and ended up on a ventilator for a week. I had surgery to clean out the abscess and finally, after a total of 36 days and two hospitals, came home. Then came the toes. I had almost every toe on both feet amputated because of osteomyelitis (bone infection). Then there was the transmetatarsal (Half foot) amputation of my left foot. And, finally, a couple of weeks ago I had to have my right leg amputated below the knee. Bone infection again. All of these surgeries, 14 in total, stemmed from complications from diabetes.

There’s not much more to tell about me. But I look forward to reading some of your diaries and maybe getting some feedback about mine in the future. Nice to meet everyone!

Log in to write a note
October 24, 2021

I don’t always comment, but I try and click the heart icon to let you know I read the entry. Welcome to OD!

October 24, 2021

@solovoice thank you!

October 24, 2021

Welcome to OD, Blackcat. I’m sorry you’ve endured so much. You sound very strong to have endured all that you have.

October 24, 2021

@opposingsimplicity thank you! I try to keep a positive attitude. It does tend to get me down at times if I let it, but I try to keep that at a minimum. What good would it do me to be all sad and dwell on what I don’t have?

October 24, 2021

@blackcatnana very well said. šŸ™‚ Even if we can’t control most of the stuff around us, at least we have the choice to chose what mood to be in. I look forward to each day knowing that’s it’s a fresh beginning and one never knows what each day will bring! šŸ™‚

October 24, 2021

@opposingsimplicity that’s a great way to look at it!

October 24, 2021

Welcome to OD!Ā  My goodness, you’ve had a lot of adversity!Ā  You sound strong in spite of (or because of?) it all, so my hat’s off to you.

October 26, 2021

@ghostdancer thank you! And thank you also for the friend request.

October 25, 2021

Wow! So far, I’ve not had trouble with diabetes in that way. I was septic from a lodged kidney stone and was in the hospital for 4 days. I was septic also. How do you manage your diabetes? I didn’t for a while and I paid the price by getting retinopathy. Now, I have to get shots. The world seems a different place today for sure. Relationships are certainly different from what used to be the norm. And that’s right, as long as they are happy and safe, it’s all that matters.

October 26, 2021

@wildflower1217 hi! I’m glad to hear that you haven’t had the same problems as I have with your diabetes. It sucks at times, that’s for sure. I take a total of 5 shots a day, plus one oral medication. No problems with retinopathy yet, thank goodness! I’m sorry you’ve had that issue. And you’re so right about relationships these days! Things have most definitely changed since the days I grew up!

October 26, 2021

@blackcatnana I take fast-acting insulin/Novolin R using a sliding scale before each meal. Then I take a slow-acting insulin/pen insulin called Basaglar at night before bed. I’ve tried so many oral medications. Insulin is working for me. I’m still checking my blood sugar the old way. I’d like to update and be able to check it with my phone. I think wearing the device would be fine after getting used to it.

October 26, 2021

@wildflower1217 I use Humalog before meals and Lantus in the morning and before bed. I’m still pricking my finger too. I’m looking into the Dexcom (or however it’s spelled lol).