London Trip!!

I am leaving for London this Friday as a mini study abroad experience with my university. I am thrilled, I can’t even count all of the things that I want to do. However, the trip really snuck up on me so I’m currently feeling very overwhelmed by all of the stuff I have to do. Most of it doesn’t actually even have to do with London, but more with finishing up all my schoolwork early so I don’t need to work when I’m gone.

Someone from my study abroad group chat mentioned something yesterday—a candlelight performance at St. Martin’s Cathedral of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and other Baroque pieces!! I am actually so excited about it. I love Vivaldi and Baroque music. It really got me excited about all of the culture I’ll get to just absorb while I’m traveling.

I’ve felt my admiration of England decreasing in the past few months as I just consider how much their narrative has dominated history and the canon. But those issues aside, it’s fun to visit big cities (no matter where, honestly). And even though white, English people have dominated the canon, it’s still what I know. So I’ll get to see a lot of the history surrounding the books/music/etc I know!

Can’t wait! I can’t believe I’m leaving so soon…

Log in to write a note