London Trip

I just came back from my London spring break trip last night. Currently… I’m just trying to fight the jet lag. We got up at 5am London Time to go the airport and then I got home 8pm CST. I was SO exhausted but I didn’t want to mess my sleep schedule up, especially since I had to leave my house this morning around 7am. I’m actually a little surprised I’m not more exhausted. I guess this is probably the most chill day I’ve had in a few weeks, since I was always busy in and leading up to London.

My trip was so much more amazing than I expected. There’s so much to see, I feel like I could stay there for months. My favorite part, probably, was getting to browse the art museums and bookshops. The National Gallery…. I have no words. I’m a whore for a good Impressionist painting. And I also feel an obsession with Cezanne coming on.

I bought a total of 12 books, which I kind of regret, but not really. I’ve already read two and I loved them (Toni Morrison’s Recitatif and Anne Fadiman’s Ex Libra). This trip really renewed my desire to be a fervent reader and lover of culture. I want to learn and read everything right now. I know it won’t happen, but what a magical feeling.

I also got really close with a few of the people on the trip. I was worried I’d be lonely but I found so many art and book lovers! All my roommates are STEM-centered, so it felt like a breath of fresh air, being able to talk about classics with these people.

All in all, London is it. It is so it. I want to go back. Honestly, I could live there. I guess we’ll see…

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2022

Lucky you!!

I’ve always wanted to visit England.

March 24, 2022

@gypsywynd I highly encourage it!! You won’t be disappointed.