Earthquake

I am writing this entry sitting at the beauty salon getting my hair cut and dyed, so bare with my poor writing please!

Yesterday I went to the movies with my husband (Black Panther!!!), it was a good day… until we came back home. We hadn’t been 30 minutes at home when a 7 degree Earthquake hit my country…. just after 5 short months of the one that destroyed Mexico City  back in September.

On September 19th 2017 Mexico City was hit with a 7 degree earthquake that destroyed our city. I was driving, hadn’t gone to work because I was doing some crap at the bank, I was listening to the radio because my phone and my husbands phone had no battery left. The alarm went off (we have so many earthquakes that there’s an alarm that goes off throughout the city and in tv and radio). I didn’t know what to think. I knew there was a drill going on at some point that day because ironically enough it was the anniversary of the OTHER earthquake that destroyed our city back in 1985.

I asked my husband “wasn’t the drill earlier?” He shrugged, in that moment the wall right behind our car began crumbling and a rock fell next to our car. I felt the car shaking

“keep driving, stay right in the middle of the street” my husband said. I was crying. My office, the building where my whole family works is in one of the most dangerous places to be during an earthquake. Back in ’85 it was where most of the buildings disappeared.

Eventually I reached my entire family and went to pick my kids from school early. There was no school for almost 3 weeks. A lot of people is still homeless and a lot of children with no school. I’m lucky. I was just scared out of my mind.

 

Yesterday as I felt the earthquake I couldn’t help but panic a little on the inside. Me and my husband grabbed the kids and ran outside. We did what every Mexican does during an earthquake: panic and run outside.

I slept in clothes, arranged a line of jackets, shoes and personal documents for everyone right next To the door. Just in case an earthquake hit in the middle of the night.

 

Yesterday was was a good day until the earthquake hit. But then it was a lucky day, we are alive, our city is safe for now and we can go on to dye our hair and get a hair cut.

 

That’s all for now!

See you around, everybody!

Log in to write a note
February 17, 2018

Can only imagine how terrifying this was. So glad you are OK!!

February 17, 2018

@angelsong thank you! It is terrifying but normal for us 🤷🏻‍♀️ Sad but true

February 17, 2018

We are very glad you and your family are okay!

February 17, 2018

@thediarymaster thank you!

February 17, 2018

I too am glad you are okay. I was in San Jose, CA when the big earthquake hit there in 1989. Thankfully in that quake, because the baseball World Series was being played in San Francisco that day and the two teams where San Francisco and Oakland, most of the businesses closed at noon. The highways were already clear during rush hour traffic when the roads collapsed. It was scary for me and I was closer to the center of the quake when it happened. It took me about a week to get home because of the closed airport.

February 17, 2018

@altair i know! It’s terrible. We’ve been having aftershocks that go as high as 5.9 so a lot of running in and out of buildings! It’s emotionally exhausting.

February 17, 2018

I have never been through such a huge natural disaster but have been through a couple earthquakes in the pacific NW the largest over 6.0. It’s terrifying. I am glad your whole family is safe and sorry you have to live with that fear and those memories.

February 19, 2018

@freshcrystal 6.0 is already a large one! We’ve had 3 after shocks over 6 during the weekend. over a thousand aftershocks since Friday. Today I decided that I was going to think that everything will be alright. Can’t keep living in fear!