Motivation!

I’ve done it!

My Christmas present to myself was motivation to do what I’ve wanted to do for a long time, which is get motivated about my photography and art. Today I re-paid for my Lightroom account and started my 500px profile back up.

Am I great at photography? Hell no. Am I even good? Not really. Do I love it? Yes. Well, I use to. Before that whole perfectionism thing took over. That was annoying. But point being, I’ve been too afraid, and I’ve been comparing me with, well, ME!

I look back at the old photos I took when I was in college and the perspective and overall feel of the photos were actually pretty decent–and I have yet to be able to get the skills I use to have back–which no doubt has been frustrating.

But it’s one thing to compare yourself to others–it’s another to compare yourself to, well, yourself.

I’m fortunate in that I have a boyfriend who also supports me along the way which is just more motivation.

In the long run, I am hoping I can create a productivity calendar and give myself some structure so this whole thing doesn’t fall through the cracks again. Now is the time for change — and NOT because it’s the new year….because it’s about time.

giphy gif

 

Log in to write a note
December 25, 2019

How wonderful! Your art should first be about pleasing yourself – and then if it also please others, that is just a bonus!

December 27, 2019

@thediarymaster

I absolutely agree!! And it reminds me of a David Bowie quote (he’s been great inspiration in terms of anything artistic) which was:

I think it’s terribly dangerous for an artist to fulfill other people’s expectations. ” And if I’m correct, I think he goes on to say that’s when people tend to produce their worst work because they’re doing it for the critic not their inner ambition to create.

Which, I think, is an interesting take, but also perhaps accurate in some ways.

But, to go back to your comment — it’s definitely a DIFFICULT perspective to accept but an absolutely accurate one! 🙂

December 29, 2019

@bowiesbandit that’s a good one!

December 25, 2019

Good for you!  You go girl!

December 27, 2019

@wildrose_2

Awh, thank you!! 💗