Cease Your Funning

Annabelle, the night is old and you are still so young
So I know that you will never listen to me
I’m just an alto in the choir of voices to ignore
Or drown out with hard won naivete
The boys round here will never be men
And you, you’ll be a woman soon
As they lag behind, don’t let them drag you down
Like an anchor attached to the moon
I’m not asking you to cease your fun
Maybe, just to look at your definition
Or whether this town has other inhabitants to find
With whom you could lose your inhibitions
I may be old fashioned and unfashionable
And there’s little reason to listen to me
I just had a stake in bringing you into this world
I only want the best for you, can’t you see?
That the world is bigger than you can ever imagine
It’s bigger than this old town
These city walls weren’t built to keep you in
It won’t be long until you’re climbing the ramparts to be let out
What you may think you want now
Could turn into a big mistake
I’m not asking you to cease your fun
But just to be sure in the decisions you make.
Errors can be made in haste
Only to be repented at leisure
At the end of every rainbow is a pot of gold
I’m not sure if you realise that you are the treasure
That the whole world would want to find
And hold to their collective chest
I am so proud of you, my dear
I hope you know that where daughters are concerned, you are the best.

Log in to write a note