am i wrong?

Ok ok so here is my problem here….I have a stepdaughter who is 18 lives at home with us for free with all the amenities. However she doesn’t do a damn thing around the house. Won’t even let the dog out to go potty. Does whatever she wants whenever she wants does not tell a soul about where she is when she’ll be home nothing. She has a revoked license right now because of a no proof of insurance ticket. I asked her to pick up her sisters from school today and do 3 chores…..NONE of what she did. Instead she went to get another tattoo in a different town. I lived with my mom when I was 18 and would never stay out past 11 and always told them what and where I was just out of respect. My husband thinks “she is 18 she can do what she wants” Ummmm…not acceptable. Am I wrong? Here is a little background. We have had full custody of her since she was 8, I have been in her life since she was 3. Her mother moved her 3hrs away to live in a cinder block garage with NO running water or bathroom or bedrooms with a man who was abusive and later on molested her older sister. Now she thinks her mom is the greatest thing since sliced bread and now goes there every weekend because there is no rules at moms house like there is at dad and Echo’s. I just feel like she is so disrespectful and selfish and I don’t want my girls to think that behavior is ok.

Log in to write a note
January 20, 2022

You are not wrong at all. Not even a little bit. From the moment I began working at 15- I was handing my checks over to my parents to help contribute to the family. When my own daughter turned 18, she had a choice- go to school, or get a job. Both choices required that she pitch in with chores and meal making.

Your step daughter sounds entitled- and this is probably because she went through some stuff while with mom. No blaming or judgement here, but my daughter attempted sort of the same thing- and said her anxiety was the cause. I had to have a few discussions with her in recent years regarding this, even though she is on her own now.

January 20, 2022

You’re house, your rules. Yes, she’s a legal adult now, but just like living in an apartment complex, there are still rules. If she doesn’t like it, she needs to get a job and get a place of her own. Letting kids do what ever they want is what ruined most of those bornin the 90’s and beyond. I’m NOT saying that’s what you did, but that’s the attitude she’s taken. She need’s her checked. It’s your place, not hers.

January 21, 2022

She does work and go to college but I believe she needs to step up and help weather she makes the mess or not. I don’t make the mess and I have to clean it up also. She lives at our home for FREE with her own bathroom, Wifi, netflix, hulu, disney+. I am not asking alot. Clean the cat boxes, put dishes away and switch laundry. She doesn’t help with any of the bills.