Fine is another word for boiled fish

“What else could they do—with that sort of character?”

“Throw out your misperceptions and you’ll be fine. (And who’s stopping you from throwing them out?)

Marcus Aurelius – Meditations.

“Never say of anything, “I have lost it”; but, “I have returned it.” Is your child dead? It is returned. Is your wife dead? She is returned. Is your estate taken away? Well, and is not that likewise returned? “But he who took it away is a bad man.” What difference is it to you who the giver assigns to take it back? While he gives it to you to possess, take care of it; but don’t view it as your own, just as travelers view a hotel.”

Epictetus, Enchiridion, 11

 

The thing that used to bother me, doesn’t bother me as much. I don’t think about it when I’m busy. If I was working all day with people then I wouldn’t think about it at all and would be over it within 2 weeks. It’s not the tragedy that hurts, it’s the malevolence. But I tell myself to I already thought about it from all angles, there is no new insight. I hate the idea of letting go of the pain as if it’s something that can be rolled off my back and not bother me ever again. It’s something that legit fucked me up and changed the way I look at relationships as well as friendships. I trusted shitty people, that’s what happens when you trust shitty people. That’s not what happens when you trust good people who have your back and who have constantly proven themselves in the past. I trusted people who didn’t prove jack shit for me in the past and backstabbed me at the first chance they got. Future good people should not suffer for their mistakes, not should they feel unworthy because of someone else’s mistake.

Log in to write a note