Grandpa

Grandpa made it through is biopsy just fine.  Although it was a long day for everyone.  We didn’t leave the hospital until 5 pm.  He was supposed to have his follow-up today but it had to be rescheduled to next Tuesday.   My grandfather got on the floor for some reason or another the other day and couldn’t remember how to get up.  My grandma had to call his brother to come and help him get back up and in his chair.  He seems to be having a hard time walking now.   He doesn’t get fully dressed most of the time anymore.  He is wearing adult diapers 24/7.   I am meeting them at the appointment on Tuesday. I need the information first hand so that I can help my grandma deal with whatever may be next. My grandfather’s brother is going to bring them there.

The lawn still hasn’t been mowed over to my grandparents.  I am a little pissed off.  Last week I asked my brother if he could go over there and do it.  My uncle still has no idea what day it is and can’t remember anything.  He said he would get over there because he was off all week.. but he didn’t.  Now its been raining most of the week.  I am trying to hire someone to go over there.  I posted on the next-door neighbor site and I have gotten a bunch of messages.   I’m frustrated that my mother isn’t doing anything, my uncle cant (all he does still is drink all day), my brother didn’t follow through.  I am the only one making sure they are ok and doing things for them. I can’t NOT do anything when they have done so much for me in my lifetime… but I can only do so much.  I am taking my grandma to do her monthly shopping tomorrow.

I reached out to our local Alzheimer Association Chapter.  They do free care counseling.  I have to figure something out.  My grandma cannot take care of him for much longer.  And now, what if he has cancer?  They can’t afford assisted living.  I need to get my grandma’s insurance info and see what medicare covers and what it doesn’t and what her secondary insurance covers and what that doesn’t.

My heart aches.

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2018

That sounds heartbreaking about your grandfather.

I’m going through similar things with my grandmother right now. Thankfully, your grandparents have you, and my grandmother has my dad (her son-in-law.)

Hopefully your grandfather doesn’t have cancer. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for him.

July 27, 2018

@justamillennial thank you!

July 28, 2018

*****HUGS*****

July 29, 2018

I’m so sorry to hear this. And it doesn’t help that you can’t get any help. Prayer going up for you!