Day Of Sadness!!

Well I informed my son he had to go… It was a sad and incredibly hard thing to do… But if I had backed down like a part of me wanted to then what example would that have set for my other 2 children?!?

But because he is my son and I love him very much I made sure he had a place to go… It is winter after all and no way did I want him on the streets… I told him that should he finally learn to grow up and how to be responsible for himself plus his actions then we can revisit him living here again… But he will have to of made some major changes… For one having a job and actually keeping it beyond 30 days… Also he has to stop stealing… Well he has to stop breaking the law all together but shop-lifting is what he was arrested for again… But I firmly believe in second chances… He just has to show he deserves one…

Despite everything… It was still heartbreaking to have him go… I know he isn’t living very far from us but the house feels a bit emptier without him in it… Even my husband who was the original one to say he had to go was sad… We are in totally different states of mind right now… My husband (completely out of character) was being clingy and wanting me around all day… I on the other hand wanted to be alone… Both feelings completely contradicting the other… But because I knew he was in pain I stepped outside of myself and my dark space… I kept him company… Went with him to Pecatonica while he worked on the car’s muffler… Sat in the dusty warehouse (which is not easy cause I am allergic to dust) and tried to keep his mind occupied so he wouldn’t feel so bad… Then once we got back home I was able to get my peace and quiet to myself…

My daughter was really upset cause my son was gone before she even woke up… He told me to give her a hug for him since he wasn’t able to wake her (she can sleep pretty hard sometimes)… She loves her older brother but she understood why we had to do what we did… Which I found slightly surprising considering she rarely agrees with anything we say or think… My youngest son was upset I could tell but he is more of the suffer in silence type… He was after all the one who shared a room with him… So his loss was probably greater felt then ours (cause the loss is more obvious to him since they walled themselves up in their room most of the time)… But he isn’t much of the voice his pain type of kid… He pretty much just did his chores then lost himself in video games for the remainder of the day… But I know under it all he is pretty sad… I can see it in his eyes…

I know I keep referring to it as a “loss” when I guess most wouldn’t see it that way cause we will still see him when he visits and he isn’t that far away… But to us it feels like a loss… He is our family… He was a part of this little unit in our home and now he is no longer living here… So to us it a loss of sorts…

I get that he is 18… But he will always be my “kid” no matter what his age is… Kids have a way of driving you absolutely insane… But you’re still sad when they leave…

*sighs* I swear sometimes being a mom is the hardest thing to be on the planet…????


*sidenote* I am VERY happy that OD is back (I had a diary on here for 10 years before) but am I the only one who misses how customizable it was before?!? The way we could make it 100% unique with the use of html?!? I dunno I guess I just like customizing things… But I am glad it’s back… I have missed it… It was always “home” to me…

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2018

I think you did the right thing.

January 28, 2018

@publicenemy13 Thank you… It’s just not easy… But I am hoping this helps him…

January 28, 2018

❤ I think this is the only thing you could do. And yes, I hope, sooner or later OD will have the html function again, but after all I am glad it is back and it feels familiar to me.

January 28, 2018

@edelweis I am pretty sure I followed you prior to OD shutting down!!

January 28, 2018

❤️ Our son is going to be 17 And Is going to face plant on his own despite everything we have done to try and prep him for life. I went to college, then moved out when I was barely 20. I loved it. You did the right thing!

January 28, 2018

@jeanie Thank you… I just worry bout him….

January 28, 2018

What you’re living is what my mother is afraid of. I’ve been desperately looking for work for months without success, and I cant make my rent this month unless my father helps me.

I want to stay with them until I find work because I can’t handle the stress of waiting until the end of the month for my dad to make up the balance of my rent and wondering if he’ll change his mind and decide not to, and not eating every day because I get $38/month in food stamps and it’s impossible to eat on that, and the money I earn tutoring goes to utilities and cat food and…

I’m just exhausted.

I don’t want to live with my parents. I just want a safe place to go until something comes through.

January 28, 2018

@dolorangelicus $38 a month?!? No one could live on that… It might be best for you to live with your parents for a bit… Sounds like the job market where you live really sucks… I hope things get better for you…

January 28, 2018

@c-mcconnell I’m not welcome, by my mother at least. Thanks for the well-wishers.

January 28, 2018

@dolorangelicus Well hopefully she comes around… But if not I am sure you will find a way to move on with things… I did… Didn’t have parental help since I was 15 and I am now 36… We tend to find our way in the world… Just sometimes the roads get rocky…

January 28, 2018

Hopefully your son is feeling the same sadness as you guys and hopefully that sadness will drive him to be a better version of himself x

January 28, 2018

@mom2dj I really hope so too… I been on my own since I was 15… My mother and I clashed a lot when I was a teenager… But getting booted like I did made me grow up and I became a decent person eventually… I am hoping the same goes for my son…

January 28, 2018

I saw your entry on the front page, you did what you needed to do for your family, it will be hard for him but also you, watching, but have hope, one day he will grow up, takes a lot of time with some kids,

I know I didn’t believe people when they told me that,

my daughter had leave at 16, she bounced around for a few years but now has finally settled down, sometimes we wouldn’t hear from her for weeks, but we always eventually she would call, with apologies of course,

take care of yourself during this, hugs

January 28, 2018

@thesunnyabyss Thank You… That gives me some hope… All I want for him is for him to have a good life… It’s so easy easy to destroy your life and I am praying he wakes up before he does…

January 28, 2018

Putting your foot down had to be hard but I think you did the right thing.

January 28, 2018

@wasdazeddahlia It was very hard… One of the hardest things I have ever had to do… But I did it cause I love him… Thanks for your support 🙂